True Blue Custard Crunch Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by aneta96
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
So easy to make and very good. Im still learning to bake/cook yet everytime I make something off this website it turns out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aneta96

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Justice, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This recipe is a keeper! I know it would lend itself well to other types of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This is delicious! I had to use plain low-fat yogurt instead of sour cream, and frozen blueberries-but had no problems with the pie setting up, though it had to bake 45 minutes total. I didn't have pecans, so I processed brown and white sugars with the other ingredients plus a graham cracker. The result was very tasty, and visually pleasing. I didn't have to add all of the topping since I wanted some of the filling to be visible. The topping browned very quickly- and I had to cover the edges with foil for the last 15 or so minutes or the crust would have burned. This is very easy and well worth the effort! I will definitely make this again. Thank you, Baker Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made this exactly as written except I used a pie shield for the entire baking time. I cooled it at room temperature and then refrigerated it overnight before serving with a little RediWip. I got five big thumbs-up from my guests. I'll definitely make this pie again soon. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Baker Betty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isaac's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Yum yum yum! Mixing by hand, this was ready to bake in less than 15 minutes - mix flour and sour cream 1st if you do. WHO CARES what it looks like it's delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was so quick and easy to make, as well as delicious. I didn't slice it until it was chilled over night, and it sliced very well, but I imagine it wouldn't do that when still warm. I used half blueberries, and half cherries because we like that fruit combination. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This dessert tasted pretty good, but is not really a custard pie. I followed the recipe and got a floppy mess when sliced and served. I would recommend cutting back on the sour cream and adding actual custard that will set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I followed this recipe to the letter and after 25 minutes it came out of the oven burned! I baked it on upper 3rd rack? Just hoping it tastes alright. As it has to go in for another 15 min with crumble topping, I turned oven down to 300 and keeping my fingers crossed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I am a novice cook and I was surprised by how easy this was to make. Delicious. I make this all the time. I actually love it the next day after it has chilled in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This was an awesome pie. It's a lot quicker to get in the oven than a traditional blueberry pie and only dirties a mixing bowl, so I doubt I'll even go the boil-with-cornstarch route anymore. It's so creamy and refreshing with the dairy, and the fresh blueberry taste comes through perfectly. I'll probably try with other fruit too. For my preference I'll use brown sugar in the topping but that's all I would change, thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States