True Blue Custard Crunch Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
My husband...who is fussy about pies...loved it! The sour cream is prefect in this pie. Followed directions exactly as indicated and it turned out great. Crumble topping adds a nice crunch. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I was a bit leary of this recipe since neither hubby or I like custards, but since the ingredients didn't sound like a custard to me, I took a chance and fortunately I was right, this is NOT a custard in the true sense of the word. Made exactly as written, except for grating the cold butter into crumb mixture. Had really good taste and appearance. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This was delicious! What it lacked in presentation, it certainly made up for in taste! I made it for friends and everyone raved about it. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This pie was a huge hit at my friend's birthday party. I made it exactly as directed except I made half again as much of the topping, because more topping is always better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I have to admit that I'm not a fan of pie, but made this from my father who loves blueberry pie. He was not a fan of having custard in his blueberry pie. I didn't like the consistency very much, so I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This is one of my family favorites. I get request for this recipe. It a flavorful pallet pleasing pie! Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Didn't add the pecans to the crumb topping (had some left over from my apple pie recipe), but it's a keeper! Both kid love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Picked over 11 pounds of blueberries last season and turned the majority of them into this pie. Stellar job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miscibility

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AEROJUNKI
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I had to use frozen blueberries, but the pie still turned out just fine. I used walnuts because I didn't have pecans. This is incredibly easy to make, and the "custard" holds the pie together when you slice it which is a big plus in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEROJUNKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enola, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Amounts seemed too much of vanilla & salt for a pie. I reduced to 1 1/2t & 1/8t. I combined the flour & sugar with the berries. The sour cream, egg & vanilla; then added it to the berry bowl. I used frozen berries & baked 40 minutes before adding the topping; then, 20 since 15 didn't do much. After 20, still no "crunch," but I'll get over it. Nut allergy so no nuts. Warm taste test: Yum. 'Thought it might be blueberry yogurtish, but it's more blueberry CHEESECAKEISH! Oh, my! :) Cinnamon isn't noticeable. It's enough to enhance flavor without your knowing what it is. 'May try with more since cinnamon's good for ya, but I wouldn't go for a cinnamony blueberry pie myself. If I make again with the topping, I'll go for 30 then 30; but, honestly, it's good enough to not have the extra sugar topping. If the berries are juicy, I don't know that it'd crisp anyway. No, not the prettiest pie, but make pie crust leaves or a regular top crust! PS "What cinnamon?" you ask? Sorry, my usual pie, I add half t. 'Don't remember if I added that or less. :? :( Christmas 2013: The topping isn't necessasary. It doesn't improve the flavor or look. It's an unattractive, but delicious pie. I'm thinking of renaming it "Pie with a good personality!" :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States