True Blue Custard Crunch Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Picked over 11 pounds of blueberries last season and turned the majority of them into this pie. Stellar job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AEROJUNKI
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I had to use frozen blueberries, but the pie still turned out just fine. I used walnuts because I didn't have pecans. This is incredibly easy to make, and the "custard" holds the pie together when you slice it which is a big plus in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEROJUNKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enola, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Amounts seemed too much of vanilla & salt for a pie. I reduced to 1 1/2t & 1/8t. I combined the flour & sugar with the berries. The sour cream, egg & vanilla; then added it to the berry bowl. I used frozen berries & baked 40 minutes before adding the topping; then, 20 since 15 didn't do much. After 20, still no "crunch," but I'll get over it. Nut allergy so no nuts. Warm taste test: Yum. 'Thought it might be blueberry yogurtish, but it's more blueberry CHEESECAKEISH! Oh, my! :) Cinnamon isn't noticeable. It's enough to enhance flavor without your knowing what it is. 'May try with more since cinnamon's good for ya, but I wouldn't go for a cinnamony blueberry pie myself. If I make again with the topping, I'll go for 30 then 30; but, honestly, it's good enough to not have the extra sugar topping. If the berries are juicy, I don't know that it'd crisp anyway. No, not the prettiest pie, but make pie crust leaves or a regular top crust! PS "What cinnamon?" you ask? Sorry, my usual pie, I add half t. 'Don't remember if I added that or less. :? :( Christmas 2013: The topping isn't necessasary. It doesn't improve the flavor or look. It's an unattractive, but delicious pie. I'm thinking of renaming it "Pie with a good personality!" :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
the best pie I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This is a VERY nice blueberry pie! I wasn't so sure, but gave it a try and will definitely make this again. I did use less sugar in the filling, and only 2 T butter in the topping (and it was still too much, I think), so because adjustments were necessary I dropped it from 5 stars to 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I don't usually like blueberry pie....but this is the best..love the flavor, texture... Just can't stop eating it when I make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aneta96
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
So easy to make and very good. Im still learning to bake/cook yet everytime I make something off this website it turns out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aneta96

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Justice, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This recipe is a keeper! I know it would lend itself well to other types of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This is delicious! I had to use plain low-fat yogurt instead of sour cream, and frozen blueberries-but had no problems with the pie setting up, though it had to bake 45 minutes total. I didn't have pecans, so I processed brown and white sugars with the other ingredients plus a graham cracker. The result was very tasty, and visually pleasing. I didn't have to add all of the topping since I wanted some of the filling to be visible. The topping browned very quickly- and I had to cover the edges with foil for the last 15 or so minutes or the crust would have burned. This is very easy and well worth the effort! I will definitely make this again. Thank you, Baker Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made this exactly as written except I used a pie shield for the entire baking time. I cooled it at room temperature and then refrigerated it overnight before serving with a little RediWip. I got five big thumbs-up from my guests. I'll definitely make this pie again soon. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Baker Betty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isaac's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States