True Blue Custard Crunch Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I am not usually a huge fan of blueberry pie. My husband is though, so I made this one. We all loved this. It is beyond good and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHERA1088
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Super easy and fast to put together. Great way to use blueberries! Will make this again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERA1088

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was incredibly simple to make and very delicious. The center wasn't set at all when I pulled it out after 25 minutes to add the topping, so I baked for an additional 10 minutes before adding the topping. Also, one of my dinner guests is allergic to tree nuts, so I substituted brown sugar for the pecans, and it was still very flavorful and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Oustanding! Perfect texture and flavor - not overly sweet, full-on blueberry-ful. I increased the filling by 1/2 (using 1/2 of a beaten egg) to fill a deep-dish pie pan, so mine needed about 15 minutes longer baking time. This sets and slices beautifully when chilled (I didn't serve any until I chilled it, so I'm not sure how it does warm). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This pie was super easy and delicious! I followed the recipe just used splenda and light sour cream. The cooking time is perfect! Thank you Nonnie Z for a wonderful pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Fabulous and easy! I substituted vanilla yogurt for the sour cream (since I had none of that on hand), and the results were scrumptious! The taste and pop of the fresh berries comes through wonderfully...not overcooked, not mushy. The "custard" is light and smooth, not overly eggy (maybe that's what the other reviewer expected). Great warm, but keeps nicely in the fridge. You can zap pieces in the micro to warm if desired. Put this together in a snap, all by hand. No need for the mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjns
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I really liked the blueberries and topping, but the custard part really didn't add anything special for me. It wasn't bad, it just really wasn't like I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I just made this the other day and OMG it is delicious!. I wasn't going to use the pecans because I didn't have any but decided to wait a day and get a tiny bag in the baking section of the store. The crunch it gives to the topping is perfect. Wonderful with a little ice cream on top as well as plain. Definitely plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Magoo
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Probably one of the best pies that has ever been made. It is so delicious and easy. Absolutely everyone who tried it loved it. I will be making this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This pie is awesome! Very easy and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States