True Blue Custard Crunch Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Yummy flavor. I really liked the crunchy topping. I used frozen blueberries and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I think it would be wonderful without the blueberries and add peaches instead...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This pie is really good cold. A refreshing summer dessert. However, I would strongly advise against the idea of Chinese 5 Spice in the topping, as the video suggests. It really took away from the pie in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Really good last night while still warm...pieces did not come out of the pan attractively (as reviewers stated), but may look better today. I followed the recipe except for using brown sugar in lieu of white sugar in the topping. Will reduce the salt by half the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Great fresh blueberry recipe! I used fat free greek yogurt instead of sour cream and brown sugar instead of white for the topping. I forgot the salt and it seemed fine without. I followed the directions and it set up with no problem. I let it sit about 5 minutes before cutting- no mess! It tasted great and it wasn't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
My husband...who is fussy about pies...loved it! The sour cream is prefect in this pie. Followed directions exactly as indicated and it turned out great. Crumble topping adds a nice crunch. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I was a bit leary of this recipe since neither hubby or I like custards, but since the ingredients didn't sound like a custard to me, I took a chance and fortunately I was right, this is NOT a custard in the true sense of the word. Made exactly as written, except for grating the cold butter into crumb mixture. Had really good taste and appearance. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This was delicious! What it lacked in presentation, it certainly made up for in taste! I made it for friends and everyone raved about it. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This pie was a huge hit at my friend's birthday party. I made it exactly as directed except I made half again as much of the topping, because more topping is always better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I have to admit that I'm not a fan of pie, but made this from my father who loves blueberry pie. He was not a fan of having custard in his blueberry pie. I didn't like the consistency very much, so I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States