True Bangers and Mash with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Loved it, but I've yet to meet the Irish guy that was satisfied with 1/2 cup of potatoes and one sausage, I think you need to double the sausage if you are going to feed 4 people. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Easy to make. incredibly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Greene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ginjenni
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Excellent meal! I followed the directions fairly well, except I added just a little Wondra flour to the gravy. Great St Patty's day supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
First time trying bangers and mash, and I am glad I came across this recipe. the wine is a great addition to a traditional beef broth based gravy. I also added some thinly sliced red pepper with the onions for a little added color. Make sure you do cook down the wine well so it does not overwhelm the flavors. I put the bangers back in the pan with the onions and juices to heat up. Served it hot with the mashed potatoes, with some cubed up Kerrygold cheese on the side. Since my family appreciates veggies, I made some roasted brussel sprouts for a side dish. Awesome recipe, great way to celebrate St. Patrick's Day week, even though I am Italian, we are all Irish on St. Patty's Day! Can't forget a nice cold beer with the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
had to cut it down for just two but this is by far The best recipe I've tried so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is the best Bangers and Mash I have ever had and I have been to MANY pubs. My family eats until it hurts with this one. I add the mustard to the gravy and a Tsp of worchestershire. I have made this for the boys at my firehouse and Ill be making it during a week long Renn Faire by request. Cant say enough about this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Substituted the red wine for a bottle of Prohibition Ale, served it with green peas and it was fantastic! I never realized how simple the gravy was to make, so thank you a bunch for sharing this traditional recipe. Family and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Shaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Giving this recipe five stars, even though I made a slight change to save time. I lived in England for a while, and this recipe is PERFECT!!! It's everything I remembered. My change in the timing was to cook the sausage first, then get the onions cooking in the sausage juices while I started the potatoes boiling. Also, to save time on cooking down the gravy, I added 6 cups worth of beef bouillon, but I halved the water and the wine. This made it cook down much faster so that it was ready when the sausages came out of the oven and the potatoes were done. AWESOME RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was very good - did not add the mustard powder to the potatoes, but otherwise kept to the recipe. The gravy reminds me of french onion soup, without the cheese, of course, but its very tasty. I had real Irish sausage that I picked up at Costco, complete with the "rusk" that makes the sausage split open with a "bang" when its cooked. At my house, this recipe is much preferred to corned beef and cabbage for St. Patty's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Ecellent, reminded me of the rollin hills of Ireland. Na, I've never been there but this sure was good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States