Trudy's Super Deluxe Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I added finely chopped jalapenos, red pepper, and horseradish powder, which gave it the kick I was looking for. My sister makes this without mayo and the mold is a bit firmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This was SOOO easy. I don't really like crab but this was delicious. The mushroom soup addition is a definite plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley McEvoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Isabella, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Years ago I made a crab dip with campbells tomato soup that was similar to this and although the ingredients didn't sound like they would be that good together it was always gone, never had to take any home. Has anyone tried to substitue tomato soup? Just wondering how it turned out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I have been making this recipe for over 10 years!! its my great aunt recipe!! It goes fast people!! Makes a great sandwich with mixed green lettuce and croissant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I've actually been using a version of this recipe for a few years now for Halloween. It can also be made without the crab (I have a few friends who are allergic) and is just as good. I found it's delish served with slices of multigrain baguette. I tried this version and found it to be a bit bland. The version I usually make calls for green onion instead of regular, has no celery, uses real crab meat (the cheap canned stuff is fine), has a tablespoon of lemon juice and Old Bay seasoning and/or hot sauce to taste. I also found that using Campbell’s cream of mushroom with garlic is a phenomenal addition. Trust me it's to die for! Probably best for special occasions only though with all the fat/calories. For Halloween I usually add a few drops of red food coloring for a pinkish hue and put it in a brain mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This is a great crab dip. It could almost be called a crab spread as it's firmer than a dip, but that's partly why it's so good and impressive! I put it in a ring mold and it came out perfect! I did put some cooking spray oil in the mold which helped unmold it. Some olives, or celery in the center and crackers around the edge and everyone ooo'd and ahh'd! Then gobbled it all up. Be sure to use little spread knives to put it on the crackers. I did add a little real canned crab to the imitation and it gave it a stronger crab flavor without increasing the cost too much. I am for sure going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmont, California, USA
Living In: Cupertino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Very easy to make. Received many compliments. I will definately make this again. I used a round jell-o mold and it made a lovely display.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is the closest recipe I found on this site to match one I got from my friends mom. The DIFFERENCE IS I used canned crab and chopped shrimp! Also chopped green onion. The gelitin gives it a great texture and the only problem is it is so full of fat but you can't help eating lots of it! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I have made this recipe many times in the past, but lost the recipe. I'm so glad I found it here. It has always been a hit. Because it has gelatin, it can be poured into a mold and refrigerated. I have an old Tuperware mold and have never had any problems getting it to release. I serve it on a bed of curly lettuce and decorate with grape tomatoes or radish roses. Makes a beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
This is a little on the bland side, but good. It appeared to be more of a spread than a dip. The second time I made it I zipped it up with 1T horseradish, 1t lemon juice, 1/2t Tobasco and added 1t celery seed. Also substituted onion for 1/2 cup green onion and 1/2 cup sweet pickles finely minced.I'll keep this recipe as a basic, because its pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States