Truck-Stop Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
These are the BEST pancakes I have ever eaten. Usually I like to drown my pancakes in my homemade apple syrup, but these were awesome with a minimal amount of syrup. I made these last week, substituting milk and lemon juice for the buttermilk. It did not work, not sure if that was because of my error or whatever. In any case, I made it as stated today and they were perfect. I also scaled the recipe down to 9.6 servings to get equal eggs, etc. I really can't say enough about these, this recipe will be my pancake recipe from now on. You can also scale to 7.2 (3 eggs, 3 flour, 3 buttermilk, etc.); 4.8 (2 eggs, 2 flour, 2 buttermilk); 2.4 (1 egg, 1 flour, 1 buttermilk). Thank you for contributing! My family and I thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
383 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Okay, so I have never felt compelled to write a recipe review before, but after making and (better yet) tasting these pancakes I just had to write a review! I am a pancake fiend and have tried just about every pancake mix there is, but I was never fully satisfied w/ the results. Well, that's all behind me now because this recipe is a keeper! The pancakes come out so light and fluffy and utterly delicious!!! I've made this 4 times now for friends and family and everyone raves about them and asks for the recipe. Also, the last couple of times I made them I added 2 tbsp each of milled flax seed and wheat germ; it doesn't change the taste at all and it adds a little healthy twist to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Now that's a pancake! Light and fluffy...everyone loved them. I scaled recipe back to 4.8 to feed 3 adults and 2 kids. Did not have buttermilk on hand so used 2 tblsp of lemon juice and filled measuring cup to 2cups of Milk...let sit for 5-10 mins to make your buttermilk, then added the required 1/2c regular milk with the rest of the wet ingredients. Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Holy PHENOMENAL pancakes, Batman! I cannot say enough great things about this recipe. The pancakes come out REALLY light and fluffy... and have a GREAT flavor! The other reviewer who said that they don't need much syrup, it's true! I was eating most from the griddle, plain. I made the recipe as specified, but added a splash of vanilla. [I also like to try to eat healthy, so I substituted whole wheat flour, which I couldn't even taste because the flavor of this pancake is so awesome, and nonfat plain yogurt for the buttermilk.] I cannot recommend this recipe enough! They do come out soooooo light and fluffy and taste like they're straight from the griddle of your fave breakfast restaurant. [Also, note to those who found their pancakes to be tough and chewy: That's usually a sign that the pancake batter was mixed too long or strongly... try gently mixing in the dry ingredients into the wet slowly and gently until moistened, and see if that makes a difference!]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I have to add my two cents. My family has consistently turned their collective noses up at the many pancake recipes I have tried over the years. Finally, I got unanimous cheers from this one. I never eat pancakes, and I love these. They remind me of the ones at IHOP, soft, fluffy, sweet. These are going in my family recipe book. Thanks a bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Yummy! I had to scale this recipe *way* down as there are only two of us at home and was a little nervous when the conversion was kind of funny (1 1/4 eggs?), but I guesstimated as best I could. They were fabulous! My husband's not even a huge pancake fan and he said these were excellent. They weren't hugely thick like some pancakes, but they fluffed nicely and were oh so good with real maple syrup! Thanks for the wonderful recipe - it'll be used often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These are so good! Scaled these back a bit and still had enough to freeze for another time. There's just something about using real buttermilk that makes things light and fluffy! Be sure to let the butter cool after melting before adding the eggs so you don't "cook" the eggs. Served with scrambled eggs, bacon,toast, juice and coffee - it's like having the diner experience right in your own house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
My husband has always told me how much he loved the pancakes at a favorite diner that he visited as a child. He called them "flapjacks", and described them as a thinner, firmer and more flavorful version of traditional pancakes. I have repeatedly tried and failed to duplicate them for him, UNTIL NOW!! These are it!! I made them a few weeks ago for the first time, and he was ecstatic!! He has requested them every weekend since!! Since the first time I made them, the only thing I have changed is to add a little vanilla, (makes them a beautiful golden color), but everything else is exactly the same. My search for the perfect "flapjack" is over!!! (After 11 years!!) Thank you soooo much for this fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Great, reliable recipe. I always like to prepare the batter, then let it sit while I heat the griddle. The batter thickens a bit which guarantees thick, light and fluffy pancakes. Real buttermilk pancakes are the best! I added some frozen blueberries to the batter which made these particularly delicious. Thanks for sharing the reciupe BOBOBEARZOE - these were a real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
These are the best pancakes I have ever eaten in my life! I will never use another pancake recipe. My family begs me to make pancakes all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 725) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States