Truck-Stop Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Hey! These pancakes are delicious. They turn out very nice and light and fluffy. However, I am taking away a star because of a couple of issues. A. I didn't think the batter would be so much. I was like "Oh, twelve servings. That'll be fine. I'll eat like half of it anyway, and we'll just refrigerate the rest."......dear Lord. Pretty sure you could feed an army with what came out of the recipe. Don't be an idiot like I was and scale down the servings a bit. B. The batter itself can use some sort of flavoring. For a truckstop, I imagine the most feasible would be vanilla, but anything will do. They're just kind of tasteless. C. Time. I don't tend to stick to recipe guidelines for how long it should take, but this took about an hour and a half to complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
These are so awesome. This is the second time I have made them. It's only my husband and I, but I still make the whole batch and freeze them. They hold up well and now we have pancakes any time we want to and they're on hand for a quick breakfast when we have family and guests stay over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davisoasis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warroad, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Kids and hubby loved them! Have made these a few times...and always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Had to add about 2 extra cups of milk to make it the right consistency, but they were delicious!! The while family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
These were okay. Batter was a little less thick than my usual recipe - so it spread more. Subbed a cup of whole wheat, increased salt to 1/8t & added 1 1/2t vanilla. Made a lot - filled a 4L bowl. Prefer Buttermilk Pancakes II by Burygold better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I didn't like these so much . . . they ended up with a slightly rubbery consistency. Also, there was an excessive amount of batter, even when I reduced it to 4 servings. May try this again, but will reduce it to 3-servings, remembering not to overspray the pan with PAM (as it left a funky flavor on some of the later pancakes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
My husband was so excited to eat these pancakes. He loved them. I halved the recipe and froze the left overs. Now I find myself just thinking about the pancakes in the freezer. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
My husband & I loved these pancakes! The best I have ever tried because they were very light & fluffy and didn't sit at the bottom of your stomach. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morden, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is the first time I made pancakes from scratch. I have always made them from a box. I did not care for these at all. I'm glad I cut it down and yes, I used the right measurements. I looked to make sure I didn't forget something, I didn't. I will stick with the box for now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 728) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States