Trout with Almond-Herb Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
My husband said, this is the best fish I've ever had -- but I altered the recipe significantly. I used Progresso Italian Bread Crumbs with Lemon Pepper seasoning instead of crackers. I used an egg-and-milk drench before dredging in the bread crumbs.I used slivered almonds pounded into smaller pieces. I did not use any tyme. And, I pan fried the trout filets. We squeezed a littel fresh lemon on each filet. Even my often picky grandchildren ate the fish and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
It was OK - but seemed to be missing something. I'm not sure that thyme was the right herb for this. Or maybe it just needed something in addition to the thyme - just not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
I thought this was just OK. It seemed a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
This tasted great! I also varied it a somewhat. I used dried thyme and breadcrumbs instead of saltines and put it on a george foreman grill and served it with lots of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I am always experimenting with fish recipies and my husband particularly liked this. Plus, you can really adapt it to any white fish fillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Delicious BUT I made changes. I made one helping following the directions meticulously. Then I made my own variety. I liked mine much better. I baked it in the oven 400 degrees per inch of thickness. The milk is unecessary. I used seasoned crouton crumbs instead of saltines as the saltines are not flavorful enough to carry this recipe. I added more almonds and used a dash of dried thyme in addition to the real herbs. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
Excellent! Tasted just as good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
This is a great recipe, my husband loved it, too. I also panfried the trout. I added a little spicy seasoning since we like a little zing in our foods. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
This is really a yummy recipe. Instead of grilling the fish, I cooked it on top of the stove frying it in a bit of olive oil, just a few minutes on each side. I used dried thyme and did not grind the almonds too fine. My daughter who normally only likes fish fried in a cornmeal batter really enjoyed the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States