Tropical Turkey Meat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Delicious, so moist and the picante is something I would never think of, It is awesome! The only thing I didn't have on hand was soy sauce, inplace I used a Merlot Sauce(there is soy sauce in it..at least). I can not wait to make this again. Great recipe Frances!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This is a 5-star recipe with my alterations. I put minced jalapeño, cilantro, fresh ginger, & sesame oil right into the meat loaf mix. Also, we did not care for the pineapple topping, so I mixed teriyaki sauce with ketchup and spread that on top. It came out very moist and flavorful. Thanks for a wonderful and creative recipe! *Note* Mine was fully cooked after 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERAHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
My family loved this recipe!!! Awesome way to reduce fat with a Turkey recipe without sacrificing flavor. I substituted Egg Replacer for the Egg substitute because my little one is allergic to eggs. Still came out awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This meatloaf is excellent! I changed a few things though. I used oatmeal instead of bread crumbs and 3/4 c. egg substitute and a 16 oz. can crushed pineapple. I let the oatmeal soak up the egg and 1 c. of pineapple. For the sauce, I doubled the ingredients and didn't have a jalapeno so instead used a pinch of cayenne pepper. I also heated the sauce in a microwave for 1 min. This was fabulous! I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Excellent turkey meat loaf! We especially loved the pineapple-jalapeno salsa to top it with. Very original and delicious. Only a couple things I might change next time... 1)add some chopped cilantro to the salsa 2)bake just 1 hr... time as given was too long.. at least in my oven. Thanks for a "keeper" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I was suprised by how good this was. I was planning on giving any leftovers to my parents to take home since I hate turkey, but I really liked it and kept the leftovers for myself! I used panko breadcrumbs and 2 whole eggs and the texture was lovely. It is better the next day...and the salsa is better the second day. Next time I would double the salsa recipe and make it a day in advance. I would add more pineapple to the top of the loaf before cooking too. It even tastes good with ketchup when you run out of the salsa. It took mine less than 1 hour to register 180 degrees, so you may want to keep an eye on it while it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I was quite surprised by how this recipe turned out, it was delicous. My husband commented that it tasted almost like egg roll filling, but in a good way. I substituted bread crumbs with crackers, and since it's just the two of us, cut the recipe in half and baked in a muffin pan for mini-meatloafs. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spontaneous Chefs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bagdad, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I didn't use all of the pineapple but it was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
A wonderful unique take on boring meat loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Awesome and easy to make!! Even my kids like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States