Tropical Turkey Meat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This is a 5-star recipe with my alterations. I put minced jalapeño, cilantro, fresh ginger, & sesame oil right into the meat loaf mix. Also, we did not care for the pineapple topping, so I mixed teriyaki sauce with ketchup and spread that on top. It came out very moist and flavorful. Thanks for a wonderful and creative recipe! *Note* Mine was fully cooked after 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERAHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I really loved this! I made a few additions/changes. I used panko breadcrumbs, because I really like their crunch, added chopped fresh spinach and chopped red onion. I topped this with a mixture of ketchup, pineapple and a dash of soy sauce. This was soo good! I served with garlic green beans and really enjoyed my dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Excellent turkey meat loaf! We especially loved the pineapple-jalapeno salsa to top it with. Very original and delicious. Only a couple things I might change next time... 1)add some chopped cilantro to the salsa 2)bake just 1 hr... time as given was too long.. at least in my oven. Thanks for a "keeper" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
When I put this in the oven I held my breath, because I didn't think it would be very good. I was pleasantly surprised!! I LOVED this!! I did modify some things (based on what I had available) but it was SUPERB!! I will DEFINITELY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Not bad at all. Tastes better then it looks. Not dry at all, very moist. I ate this the day after I made it and it was good. (was working out while it baked and when we were done, was no longer hungry lol) My b/f enjoyed it also. The salsa was pretty good too, and I was scared of how that would turn out. Followed recipe exactly except I used 1lb of turkey and used slightly less breadcrumbs. I still kept the seasoning amounts the same. Baked for about 1 hr. Considering how healthy it is, we will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Really good and a nice change of pace. I used only 1 lb of turkey (my mistake) and subbed oats for the breadcrumbs and thought it was great! Hubby was skeptical but took seconds and said it was really good. We will make this again. Also, since I only used 1 lb it was done in 40 mins. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Very good! I doubled the salsa and added cilantro to it. Used 2 eggs instead of egg substitute and it was perfect! I got chunk pineapple and just diced it and it worked perfectly for the salsa and the loaf. Thanks for the recipe. Like other raters I only needed to cook it for an hour to be done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNTCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
My family and I really enjoyed this recipe. My husband doesn't particularly care for turkey meat, but even he liked this. Make more of the pineapple mixture as you are sure to want more than the recipe proportion calls for. Leftovers good cold for lunch the next day, or even as a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This meatloaf is excellent! I changed a few things though. I used oatmeal instead of bread crumbs and 3/4 c. egg substitute and a 16 oz. can crushed pineapple. I let the oatmeal soak up the egg and 1 c. of pineapple. For the sauce, I doubled the ingredients and didn't have a jalapeno so instead used a pinch of cayenne pepper. I also heated the sauce in a microwave for 1 min. This was fabulous! I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Delicious, so moist and the picante is something I would never think of, It is awesome! The only thing I didn't have on hand was soy sauce, inplace I used a Merlot Sauce(there is soy sauce in it..at least). I can not wait to make this again. Great recipe Frances!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States