Tropical Turkey Meat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I didn't use all of the pineapple but it was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I made this for dinner tonight and everyone liked it. I only had a pound of turkey but didn't realize I should have used less of everything else until it was in the oven. It was still really good and will make again. I didn't have all the ingrediants for the sauce, no green onions or jalapeno's and I used lemon juice instead of lime but overall it was tasty and will make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEORGESGIRL99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Tastes ok and is definitely simple enough to make, but I am only giving it 4 stars because it's plain. Tastes the same as turkey loaf without the pineapple and all the other spices. The sauce is more like a relish and it doesn't complement the meatloaf very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This was really good. I do recommend that you double (if not triple or quadruple) the salsa called for at the end. It is really good on the meatloaf and also mixed in with some jasmine rice. The leftovers are not nearly as good without the salsa, hence 4 instead of 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I was quite surprised by how this recipe turned out, it was delicous. My husband commented that it tasted almost like egg roll filling, but in a good way. I substituted bread crumbs with crackers, and since it's just the two of us, cut the recipe in half and baked in a muffin pan for mini-meatloafs. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spontaneous Chefs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bagdad, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I was suprised by how good this was. I was planning on giving any leftovers to my parents to take home since I hate turkey, but I really liked it and kept the leftovers for myself! I used panko breadcrumbs and 2 whole eggs and the texture was lovely. It is better the next day...and the salsa is better the second day. Next time I would double the salsa recipe and make it a day in advance. I would add more pineapple to the top of the loaf before cooking too. It even tastes good with ketchup when you run out of the salsa. It took mine less than 1 hour to register 180 degrees, so you may want to keep an eye on it while it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Excellent turkey meat loaf! We especially loved the pineapple-jalapeno salsa to top it with. Very original and delicious. Only a couple things I might change next time... 1)add some chopped cilantro to the salsa 2)bake just 1 hr... time as given was too long.. at least in my oven. Thanks for a "keeper" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This meatloaf is excellent! I changed a few things though. I used oatmeal instead of bread crumbs and 3/4 c. egg substitute and a 16 oz. can crushed pineapple. I let the oatmeal soak up the egg and 1 c. of pineapple. For the sauce, I doubled the ingredients and didn't have a jalapeno so instead used a pinch of cayenne pepper. I also heated the sauce in a microwave for 1 min. This was fabulous! I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
My family loved this recipe!!! Awesome way to reduce fat with a Turkey recipe without sacrificing flavor. I substituted Egg Replacer for the Egg substitute because my little one is allergic to eggs. Still came out awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This is a 5-star recipe with my alterations. I put minced jalapeño, cilantro, fresh ginger, & sesame oil right into the meat loaf mix. Also, we did not care for the pineapple topping, so I mixed teriyaki sauce with ketchup and spread that on top. It came out very moist and flavorful. Thanks for a wonderful and creative recipe! *Note* Mine was fully cooked after 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERAHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States