Tropical Turkey Meat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
The first time I made this, it tasted really awful, so I brainstormed and decided to make a few changes to the recipe. I remade it and it tasted extremely good, better than anything I've had before. I substituted egg for the egg substitute and sweetened crushed pineapple for the unsweetened crush pineapple. I added a cup of wet bread crumbs instead of dry bread crumbs and I added a teaspoon of lemon juice instead of lime juice. It turned out great and I've made it three more times since then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was amazing! The only change I made was to add ketchup to the pineapple before putting it on the meatloaf before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
When I put this in the oven I held my breath, because I didn't think it would be very good. I was pleasantly surprised!! I LOVED this!! I did modify some things (based on what I had available) but it was SUPERB!! I will DEFINITELY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Really good and a nice change of pace. I used only 1 lb of turkey (my mistake) and subbed oats for the breadcrumbs and thought it was great! Hubby was skeptical but took seconds and said it was really good. We will make this again. Also, since I only used 1 lb it was done in 40 mins. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Not bad at all. Tastes better then it looks. Not dry at all, very moist. I ate this the day after I made it and it was good. (was working out while it baked and when we were done, was no longer hungry lol) My b/f enjoyed it also. The salsa was pretty good too, and I was scared of how that would turn out. Followed recipe exactly except I used 1lb of turkey and used slightly less breadcrumbs. I still kept the seasoning amounts the same. Baked for about 1 hr. Considering how healthy it is, we will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Very good! I doubled the salsa and added cilantro to it. Used 2 eggs instead of egg substitute and it was perfect! I got chunk pineapple and just diced it and it worked perfectly for the salsa and the loaf. Thanks for the recipe. Like other raters I only needed to cook it for an hour to be done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNTCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I really loved this! I made a few additions/changes. I used panko breadcrumbs, because I really like their crunch, added chopped fresh spinach and chopped red onion. I topped this with a mixture of ketchup, pineapple and a dash of soy sauce. This was soo good! I served with garlic green beans and really enjoyed my dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
My family and I really enjoyed this recipe. My husband doesn't particularly care for turkey meat, but even he liked this. Make more of the pineapple mixture as you are sure to want more than the recipe proportion calls for. Leftovers good cold for lunch the next day, or even as a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Awesome and easy to make!! Even my kids like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
A wonderful unique take on boring meat loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States