Tropical Tuna Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This is a quick and easy weeknight meal. Like others, we usually use the tidbits instead of the pineapple slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I made some adjustments to this recipe. I used french bread. I put in sriracha sauce and mixed shredded colby jack cheese in with the tuna. Didn't use celery only because I didn't have any. One of the best mix of flavors I've had with tuna. Gave 4 stars because without the sriracha, it would have been too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I was curious about this recipe, but very happy I tried it! I used Whole wheat bagel thins (half the thickness of a bagel) and used celery flakes since that's what I had. I did a mix of light mayo and regular and you never would know the difference. It was a perfect lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I used crushed pineapple and tried different variations of cheese- smoked cheddar seemed to be everyone's favorite. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I did not think this was going to be as exciting as it is!! Very different but it works perfectly! Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Very easy, inexpensive and tasty recipe. Like others, I couldn't imagine pineapple with tuna, but it is wonderful. I substituted canned chunked pineapple and mixed in the tuna. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Refreshing. Great for a summer lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I don't normally like tuna melts. When I make my own tuna salad, I use sweet pickle relish and tons of mayo; since I've never been to a restaurant that made their tuna salad that way, I've never had a tuna melt I've liked. I liked this one, though! The pineapple added the tangy sweetness and extra moisture I've always missed in restaurants. I used whole-wheat english muffins and, adding two tablespoons of salad to each, managed to stretch this recipe to six halves; did four with american, and then used cheddar for the other two. Both were great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I did not know what to think about tuna and pineapple together, but this is a very yummy combination! It is quick and easy to prepare and filling as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Had one of those days where I just didn't want to cook so I tried this recipe and WOW. My fiance and I were a bit leery of the pineapple but were pleasantly suprised and it took no time at all to fix and was filling, though I didn't have any celery so I used a small amount of celery seeds for flavor, some cayenne for kick and lemon juice and pepper since I didn't have lemon pepper. Was great and a for sure when I need a quick dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States