Tropical Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
followed directions exactly - make sure you use sea salt it really puts it over the edge. Big hit at our picnic. Shame on the reviewer who gave 1 star for something the submitter can't control.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Can't wait to try these! You have no control over the nutrional info. How dare you be docked stars for that! Some people.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Fabulous flavor, though making sure they're only fork-tender is important! I used 1 tbsp table salt instead of kosher, and will decrease it to 2 tsp table salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is a great recipe! I left out the red pepper flakes because 2 of the 3 kids are wimps. Most would know to cook until fork tender when baking them again. Messy Cook hit a home run with this recipe. We dipped them in sour cream with a little garlic & Tabasco added. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tower Lakes, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I have always made my Sweet Potato Fries this way but the seasonings you posted were an excellent change! I almost ate the batch all to myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrotCakingMenace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
NOTE FROM RECIPE MAKER: When submitted, my instructions said to "boil till fork tender". Allrecipes added to that sentence "about 20 minutes". Now that I have see two reviews stating the fries/wedges are too "mushy" I am thinking cooks are boiling for 20 minutes and not until fork tender. If you boil till fork tender, the "mushy" quality should hopefully not be an issue. Remember, recipes are a guideline to discovering what you like best. So learn, practice, experiment, and don't be afraid to mess. Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
The recipe reminds me - I put salt in my blender and grind it small. Makes for a nice coating with less salt. If you grind salt in a blender don't smell the fog of powder that hovers at the top of the blander - you don't want it in your lungs. Good on pop corn too if you buy your own kernels and pop them in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InventorNC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Great....never made sweet potato fries before...my only change was to use smoked paprika instead of regular and I omitted the cilantro since I had none on hand. Delicious, spicy, smokey and sweet all at the same time....will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Whole family loved them. Especially enjoyed the lime zest. Did find that two large sweet potatoes was enough to fill up a jelly roll pan. Instead of brushing them with olive oil I sprayed them with the aerosol olive oil. Was careful not to over boil. Took a little monitoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Loved this. Great new option to eat more sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Kinghorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wapello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States