Tropical Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
followed directions exactly - make sure you use sea salt it really puts it over the edge. Big hit at our picnic. Shame on the reviewer who gave 1 star for something the submitter can't control.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Fabulous flavor, though making sure they're only fork-tender is important! I used 1 tbsp table salt instead of kosher, and will decrease it to 2 tsp table salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
NOTE FROM RECIPE MAKER: When submitted, my instructions said to "boil till fork tender". Allrecipes added to that sentence "about 20 minutes". Now that I have see two reviews stating the fries/wedges are too "mushy" I am thinking cooks are boiling for 20 minutes and not until fork tender. If you boil till fork tender, the "mushy" quality should hopefully not be an issue. Remember, recipes are a guideline to discovering what you like best. So learn, practice, experiment, and don't be afraid to mess. Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
The recipe reminds me - I put salt in my blender and grind it small. Makes for a nice coating with less salt. If you grind salt in a blender don't smell the fog of powder that hovers at the top of the blander - you don't want it in your lungs. Good on pop corn too if you buy your own kernels and pop them in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InventorNC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Great....never made sweet potato fries before...my only change was to use smoked paprika instead of regular and I omitted the cilantro since I had none on hand. Delicious, spicy, smokey and sweet all at the same time....will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Can't wait to try these! You have no control over the nutrional info. How dare you be docked stars for that! Some people.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is a great recipe! I left out the red pepper flakes because 2 of the 3 kids are wimps. Most would know to cook until fork tender when baking them again. Messy Cook hit a home run with this recipe. We dipped them in sour cream with a little garlic & Tabasco added. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tower Lakes, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I have always made my Sweet Potato Fries this way but the seasonings you posted were an excellent change! I almost ate the batch all to myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrotCakingMenace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Loved this. Great new option to eat more sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Kinghorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wapello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Whole family loved them. Especially enjoyed the lime zest. Did find that two large sweet potatoes was enough to fill up a jelly roll pan. Instead of brushing them with olive oil I sprayed them with the aerosol olive oil. Was careful not to over boil. Took a little monitoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States