Tropical Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is a great recipe! I left out the red pepper flakes because 2 of the 3 kids are wimps. Most would know to cook until fork tender when baking them again. Messy Cook hit a home run with this recipe. We dipped them in sour cream with a little garlic & Tabasco added. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tower Lakes, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Fabulous flavor, though making sure they're only fork-tender is important! I used 1 tbsp table salt instead of kosher, and will decrease it to 2 tsp table salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
These had a really good, unique flavor. The majority of my family really liked them, with the exception being the kids who just don't really care for sweet potatoes in general. If there were a 4 1/2 option I would pick it. My only complaint is that they were mushy as other reviews have stated and I didn't boil them ahead of time after reading them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Great....never made sweet potato fries before...my only change was to use smoked paprika instead of regular and I omitted the cilantro since I had none on hand. Delicious, spicy, smokey and sweet all at the same time....will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
The recipe reminds me - I put salt in my blender and grind it small. Makes for a nice coating with less salt. If you grind salt in a blender don't smell the fog of powder that hovers at the top of the blander - you don't want it in your lungs. Good on pop corn too if you buy your own kernels and pop them in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InventorNC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Delicious seasoning! the lime zest was so good. Cooking them took twice as long, however i have a gas stove so it generally takes a bit longer anyways. I chopped up the sweet potato (in the recipe it doesn't say how big the potatos to be used are) so that it would saturate more evenly, and next time i'm going to do it for less time and use smaller potatos. I dipped these in miso gravy and they were SO GOOD. i'm going to make them again tomorrow and use smaller potato's, and cut the fries smaller, and bake for longer. yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
NOTE FROM RECIPE MAKER: When submitted, my instructions said to "boil till fork tender". Allrecipes added to that sentence "about 20 minutes". Now that I have see two reviews stating the fries/wedges are too "mushy" I am thinking cooks are boiling for 20 minutes and not until fork tender. If you boil till fork tender, the "mushy" quality should hopefully not be an issue. Remember, recipes are a guideline to discovering what you like best. So learn, practice, experiment, and don't be afraid to mess. Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I'm afraid that we weren't crazy about these. I think that the boiling time was too long as they were kind of mushy after being baked. Also, the seasoning was too strong. Too much lime and salt taste. Sorry. We won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
These are very tasy but were a bit on the soggy side. Maybe cutting back on the boiling time or microwaving instead of boiling would help. They flavor was wonderful - they just weren't really "fries" to me. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
followed directions exactly - make sure you use sea salt it really puts it over the edge. Big hit at our picnic. Shame on the reviewer who gave 1 star for something the submitter can't control.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States