Tropical Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I found these to be too salty for my liking. I found them to be a bit mushy after taking them out of the oven, so i put them in the frying pan (with some non-stick cooking spray, as to not add any more oil) for a few minutes on high heat to crisp them up a bit. they were still a bit mushy, but tasted fine other than too much salt. next time i might bake them at a higher temp for a shorter time to make them more crispy. i also served them with some sour cream with some peprika and chili peppers mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Wow, absolutley delicious! I mixed all of the spices except for the lime zest and cilantro in a big ziplock with the EVOO and tossed the potatoes in it before baking, then coated them with the zest and Cilantro after taking them out of the oven. I can't wait to try these in the summer time on the grill! Thanks for the recipe, this is going to be put into regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
These were mushy and bland. I would never make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I did not have cilantro. Other then not adding this ingredient I followed the recipe as written. The sweet potato's were not boiled long enough (should have cooked longer) Baked for 20 min. as stated and they were still not fully cooked and started to have a burnt look, turned them several times!! The seasoning mixture has a unique flavor especially with the grated lime. Too much salt though! I might try this again and boil the potato's until fork tender and cut back on some of the ingredients. Will not give up! This recipe sounds good and I love sweet potato fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayakjoan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tequesta, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
These were soooo good! The "fork tender" clarification was helpful. Don't over-boil-that's key. I added a little granulated garlic and instead of sprinkling the spices, I put them in a bowl and tossed the "fries" in the bowl for better coverage. We all loved them and I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
After reading all the reviews, I took the advice of boiling the potatoes till what I interpreted them to be fork tender. However, in the end, they were very mushy and unappetizing. I even tried baking with and without the olive oil, but nothing could save them. There wasn't enough spice mixture for all the potatoes either. Sorry, won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Love these and make them ofyen. Sometimes I add a tsp of garam masala for a change and have used the spice mixture as a rub for chicken as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Loved this. Great new option to eat more sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Kinghorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wapello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Whole family loved them. Especially enjoyed the lime zest. Did find that two large sweet potatoes was enough to fill up a jelly roll pan. Instead of brushing them with olive oil I sprayed them with the aerosol olive oil. Was careful not to over boil. Took a little monitoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I thought the flavor was great, but my fries were a bit mushy. I was careful not to over cook them before going into the oven. Next time I may cook at a higher temperature to try to crisp them up. I will also bump up the seasoning because I like really pronounced bold flavors. Thanks for sharing your tasty recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States