Tropical Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
While it's a little tricky to get the texture just right, I am in love with this seasoning blend. I tried to double the recipe the first time, which I think is what made the oven too steamy to get the crisp brown texture. Second time I gave them their space and baked on a darker cookie sheet - SO yummy! Also try putting your tray nearer the heating element if you're having trouble getting them brown and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I thought these were really good. Probably my new favorite seasoning for sweet potato fries. I didn't boil mine first. I cut them a little thinner and I cooked them for 30 min until crispy. I served them with the Spicy Chipotle Burgers from this website. I will make these again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valentinesdaybaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
My sweet potatos were rather large, so I cut them into chunks rather than wedges. They were wonderful. My husband said he'd be happy if we had these more often. Our friend turned to her boyfriend and said she'd be happy if he learned to make them so they could have them. They really are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
These weren't bad, but I expected more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Yum! Only change I made was to microwave the potato wedges in a bowl with a tiny bit of water for a couple minutes instead of boiling them. Very good. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Absolutely yummy and easy to make! The lime zest really gave it great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patkt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Seasoning was great! Boiling the sweet potatoes before baking them made them too mushy and they never crisped up. Next time I will just slice them and bake them without boiling them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
wow. Thanks for an AWESOME recipe. We LOVE sweet potatoes and have them often. I'm always looking for interesting ways to serve them and this one is a keeper for certain! Don't change the seasoning at all. It's fabulous as written. As for the cooking method...I opted to roast them like I do with other recipes. I peel and cut the raw potatoes into 1 inch-ish cubes rather than larger wedges then roast them at 400 for about 30 minutes, stirring every 15 or so minutes. This way I dont mess with the boiling part at all. Don't skip the zest or the cilantro. Its superb! I served it with a grilled steak with chimichurri sauce and polenta. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made these twice. As directed the first time and didn't care for the texture. Second time I cubed the potato, tossed them in the oil and seasonings, and oven roasted them. We normally like just plain sweet potatoes but this seasoning blend is a really nice contrast. I did not use the cilantro the second time and we likes the flavor both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I found these to be too salty for my liking. I found them to be a bit mushy after taking them out of the oven, so i put them in the frying pan (with some non-stick cooking spray, as to not add any more oil) for a few minutes on high heat to crisp them up a bit. they were still a bit mushy, but tasted fine other than too much salt. next time i might bake them at a higher temp for a shorter time to make them more crispy. i also served them with some sour cream with some peprika and chili peppers mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States