Tropical Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Perfect combination of spices. Kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I didn't see the note about boiling till only fork tender and they came out mushy. Next time I will skip the boiling entirely and just peel, cut into thin wedges and increase baking time. The 1 T salt seemed like a lot so I added only 1 t sea salt to the seasoning and they were still too salty after salting before baking as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Did not care for this too much. It was my first time trying sweet potato fries and I was very disappointed. For some reason I didn't like the tropical flavor paired with the sweet potatoes. I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Really Yummy! I used 1/2 tsp of salt and it was plenty. I didn't have cilantro so I used scallions instead. I'll try the cilantro next time because it sounds great with the lime. I'm pretty sure this would also make a great rub for chicken or fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
baked in oven. Next time I will slice extra thin so they can crisp up. had a really good flavor just weren't crisp this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
These are really good. It's a lot less work if you cut up the potatoes, toss them with all the seasonings, and roast them in the oven. I cut mine into bite-sized pieces and baked them uncovered at 450 F for about 15 minutes. They were perfect, moist and flavorful. Use Japanese sweet potatoes, which have a milder flavor on their own, if you really want the seasoning to shine. These are very good the next day (I could taste the lime more than on the potatoes fresh out of the oven), and also good served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
These were very good! I would have given 5 stars except the original recipe has far too much salt (and I *love* salt). I halved the salt and added 1/8 tsp granulated garlic and 1/16 tsp black pepper to the seasoning blend. I didn't bother pre-boiling, just cut the potatoes in smaller wedges (I've also done slices and both work well), and I didn't salt/pepper them before I added the oil and seasoning blend. The (altered, less salty) blend is very tasty and smells beautiful. I saw a few reviews saying these were bland or that there wasn't enough seasoning...all I can say is that they must positively *load* their seasonings on! I use lots of seasonings and almost always have to add extra to any recipe I make, and this recipe made *twice as much seasoning blend as I needed.* I had to make an extra batch of potatoes to use it all up (which wasn't a huge issue, since they are so tasty). At the full salt level with the original number of potatoes, the saltiness would be extreme and I can't imagine how anyone could find it bland. It just goes to show how subjective cooking can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was really good. Instead of boiling the potatoes, I put them in the microwave until fork tender (about 10 minutes) Then I let them cool and sliced them in wedges and baked. Another family favorite. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Tasty !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I must have boiled my sweet potatoes for too long because they never crisped. I really do like the seasoning and will try again with a different hand on the baking/boiling part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States