Tropical Salad with Pineapple Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
LOVED this salad! All the flavors came together and made for a very elegant, yet tropical salad. Once the dressing goes on, you have to eat it - the leftovers became soggy overnight. Eat what you make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
I made this for my husbands Hawaiian lunch at work. It was a great hit!! Passed out recipes to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
I thought this was pretty ok, but not spectacular. I sure got compliments on it from others, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Manor Hunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
I love salads, and this was easy and so delicious! I used pre-cooked real bacon bits, canned pineapple chunks, and regular (not toasted) sweetened coconut - to cut down on prep time. Took me 5 minutes tops. I had seconds! Can't wait to make this for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Two of us showed up at the Hawaiian party with the same salad. Both of us ran into ingredient 'glitches' so mine had cider vinegar instead of red wine vinegar, hers had slivered almonds instead of macadamia nuts. You could barely tell the difference. Right Linda?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
I had a vegetarian and three carnivores for dinner last night. Made this salad, ommitting the bacon and substituting slices of chicken marinated in teriyaki sauce, pineapple juice and garlic. I left the onions on the side, but put everything else on. I also added some of the unused marinade to the red wine vinegar mix, and the result was incredible. The coconut was the BEST idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
What a great salad! We loved it, even kids, and will make again. I omitted the bacon (didn't have any), increased the pineapple juice to 1/2 cup as suggested, and had to use the sugar-coated almonds rather than the macadamias. The toasted coconut is so good on this salad! Thanks, Marianne! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Absolutely delicious and didn't change one single thing. This is such a refreshing salad for summer and goes well with good bbq. I liked it so much i emailed it to all my friends. A definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
Great salad! Such a delicious combination. I used ready-made real bacon bits and they worked fine. Upped the amount of pineapple juice because I wanted more of that flavor. Also used canned pineapple tidbits. By using the canned pineapple and precooked bacon, I saved a ton of time. Also, used macadamia nuts (they were salted so I rinsed them off because toasting. My daughter liked it as well even though she doesn't like coconut. I have made tons of salads using various fruits but never have dabbled with pineapple in this kind of combination. This is my new favorite and I am going to say the best salad I have ever had in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Excellent combination of flavors! Even those who don't eat salads will love this one! No time to cook the bacon: use pre-cooked, diced pepperoni (found with the lunch meats) as a just-as-tasty alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States