Tropical Grilled Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. I make the salsa as stated and always double it for my family as they love it. When I do not have time to marinate the pork chops I use a mango haberno glaze when on the grill and have awesome results. The mango salsa smells divine as it is cooking and I have also used it on chicken. This one is a keeper for my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Wonderful flavour! Might not use the whole pod of cardamom next time, but in all fairness I did it a little different. Rather than using the ingredients as a marinade that gets thrown away, I just spun up everything in the Vitamix, pan seared the pork chops and then poured the sauce into the pan to simmer with some extra chopped pineapple and mango for the last 10-15 minutes... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
As usual, I didn't follow the recipe. I had a bottle of cardamom seed... No idea how much a pod is so I put the seed on top of the chili powder and cayenne pepper... About half of the cayenne pepper... I tasted the seed... Wasn't impressed. Tasted dirty. The marinade tasted wonderful right before I added the applesauce. I want happy about the addition of applesauce so I decided to not add the soy sauce or the additional rice wine vinegar... The pork chops were omg good! The family really enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This delicious dish was the first dish my boyfriend and I made together. We used all the ingredients except for the pineapple (could not find pineapple rings in the store + too cheap to buy a whole pineapple :D )and I must say - IT IS AMAAAAAAAAZING! We used hot chilli powder because we were unsure what heat to use - and woaw what a salsa! We'll be boasting about that salsa for years to come! The only change I would make in the future would be to experiment with different pork meats and marinade for longer. It is a really easy dish to make and I highly recommend it - especially the salsa chutney - you don't know what your missing! Delicious even when using the cheapest ingredients out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niko+Nath

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Delicious. Especially when left to marinate for overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ro59

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palisades Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
For taste I'm giving it a 5 star review. This was very good and had some nice heat to it. I used half a jalapeno since the one I bought was on the large side. For written instructions I would give it a 4. I felt that there were too many individual steps within step 2. In fact, I missed a step and had to alter the cooking process slightly. I'm a seasoned cook and I very rarely miss a step as I read recipes before I even begin. So, next time I make this I'm going to highlight out the steps in bullet point 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pataskala, Ohio, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This recipe had a great taste probably would have been better on the grill. The best part was the salsa. I would recommend letting it marinate for more than an hour. Im giving it 4 stars because making the salsa is a lot of work. more than 15 minutes for prep time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blahs4life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Very good! I don't really eat pork but my hubby loves it, so if I cook it, I want to make sure I really make it count. This was so good, I even enjoyed it! I tried to follow the recipe to a tee but I'm not even going to pretend what a "cardamom pod" is. I did search my local grocery but I didn't even know where to look, produce?, spices?... I did find a tiny bottle of ground cardamom for $12.99!!! Yeah, I substituted. I used a sprinkle of ginger and a few sprinkles of nutmeg as suggested on a Google search. I also don't know if there's much of a difference with unsweetened applesauce and no sugar added but the only kind I had was no sugar added which was still worked fine. I do think the amount of sauce is a bit excessive though, I had a lot left over which I froze for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Best pork chops ever!! I changed two things. I used peaches instead of mangos and since I hate rice wine I used white wine vinegar. Fixing it tonight over blackened salmon (without the marinated). A good idea for a side is to cut up flour tortillas into triangles and fry in olive oil. Serve with the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
One of the best recipes I've ever made! I used hot pepper flakes (about 1 tsp.) instead of cayenne pepper, and seeds from about 4 pods of cardamom. I can't get applesauce where I live, so made my own with gala apples the day before. Well worth the work! Served with spicy black beans and fresh pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States