Tropical Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Very moist and delicious coffee cake. I had to make 3 different coffee cakes for a breakfast carry-in at school, and this recipe was one of them. This was my personal favorite as I love coconut. The oil and the pineapple made this one very moist, but the crunchy topping balanced out the entire coffee cake. Definitely would make this one again for a coconut loving crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This is our favorite coffee cake recipe ever! We have made it dozens of times and it never fails to turn out perfect. My son does not like the pineapple texture so I blend the pineapple until it's creamy before adding. And I often substitute Greek yogurt for the sour cream. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This was just ok for us. I had to add almost 30 min to the baking time to get rid of the goo in the middle of the cake that just didn't want to cook. Of course, the bottom & outside were then overcooked(I had already covered the top so the topping wouldn't burn). Flavor was decent but nothing overly exciting & I just don't think I'd make it again. Sorry, Alisha, obviously I'm in the minority on my opinion :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Excellent base recipe!!! Made substitutions because of limited ingredients/preferred flavour and it still worked, so quite forgiving! I used 3 large egg whites fluffed up folded in after mixing everything (leftovers from creme brulee). I used yoghurt instead of sour cream as I ran out. Finally, I didn't add pineapple, as I wanted a lemon-coconut cake - I added 1/3 c toasted coconut into the batter and the zest of FOUR lemons. I also topped it with untoasted coconut which browned beautifully. Lemon-coconutty goodness! The only issue is that it was a bit too sweet, so with pineapple it would certainly have been too sweet for me. For the future, I would probably reduce sugar if I was adding pineapple or another sweet fruit... MOIST and baked up a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was so nice. Made it exactly as written and it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is good, not as great as I had hoped for. Very light....just not alot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This is a delightful little coffee cake and one I would certainly make again! I followed the recipe as written with the exception of using a 9” springform pan. In doing so, my cake was taller than if I’d used the 9” square pan, and I was happy with the result. This produced a mildly flavored, moist and tender cake. The topping was perfectly crispy and a nice contrast to the cake itself! I didn’t have any problem with the topping getting overly browned, but just in case, I did place a sheet of foil over the top the last 10 minutes of baking time. I did have to bake mine about 5-10 minutes longer than indicated. Loved this one! Thank you Alisha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
wow very good !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perchman74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Rocks Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Made this for a church gathering. Rave reviews! Highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elwood, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Yutan, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I made this cake and carried to breakfast gathering and got lots of compliments. It was not a personal favorite but having made three recipes to serve, and hearing many positive comments, I would say it was a hit. I followed the directions and had no problems. Very easy recipe to make. It is a good basic recipe that can be adjusted to individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maysville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States