Tropical Coconut Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This is an excellent soup! As a base, I'd give it 5 stars. However, stand alone, unless you like the flatter side of foods, small adjustments to this recipe are warrented. In my second batch I used black beans from dry and added 1/4 tsp crushed cumin seed, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, 2 1/2 cloves (1 1/2 tsp) minced garlic, and a 1/4 tsp of cajun seasoning. Redundent? It was WONDERFUL. I'd also strongly recommend using the chicken stock. Finally, I threw 5 sliced medium button mushrooms, an extra (1) cup of black beans (after the blending) and 1/2 cup chopped onions for added body and mouth feel. The recipe as is is very good and it WIDE OPEN for your own added tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vance

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This is a delightful soup and very easy to make! I found this recipe while looking for an idea of what to make with some excess black beans (from dry) I had made for some empanadas. I do agree with the other reviews that it is best used as a base. Since this was a last minute addition to my meal and I did not have the peas on hand, I used extra black beans (I think this may have been an aesthetic improvement as I noticed some of the other reviews stated that it had an odd color that I did not notice) and did add some of the leftover sauteed onions I had already made (seasoned with cumin, chili powder and a pinch of cinnamon). I used vegetable broth rather than a chicken stock to make it a vegetarian soup and I threw in a few dashes of corn meal to thicken it up a little. Then, I took the suggestion from previous reviewer and added some sauteed mushrooms along with about a tablespoon of chili powder and some minced garlic to spice it up some. Finally, I topped it with chopped fresh cilantro and squeezed some of the excess lime juice right on top before serving (feta or cotija cheese or even some creme friache would have also been a good garnish for this soup if I'd had some). My family loved it and it went really well with the black bean and cheese empanadas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Ugly but delicious! I would give it 5 stars if I were rating it based on the additions of the best-rated reviewer (cumin, cayenne, garlic, cajun seasoning), but I think it still merits 4 as-is, and I hope the rating is good enough to get people to look! Sauteed onions and mushrooms are great, think I'll try adding some celery to make it taste a little lighter. I've made it at least a dozen times, always tweaking the spices, never disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I really, really liked the unusual flavor of this soup but hubby wasn't completely won over. I am out of broth so I added a tbp or so of chicken base to 2 cups of warm water. I did take Beaner's suggestion to add cayenne, cumin & mninced garlic & I let this simmer longer than called for, to really fuse the flavors. Wasn't sure whether I should drain my beans so I did just in case. I used my immersion blender to puree. (If you do soups, you gotta get one!) I swirled a bit of cream in the bowls then ran a knife through the cream to add a little interest. My one complaint w/ the soup? It's not a very appetizing color so it's not something I would serve to guests. I served this as a first course to jerk-seasoned pork medallions w/ Spicy Pineapple Sauce (from allrecipes), jasmine rice w/ chopped bell peppers & coconut lime sorbet for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I made this recipe once as is (but with plain black beans), and it was fairly bland, so this time I took other reviewers' suggestions and added cumin, cayenne, Cajun seasoning, and garlic, and I used vegetable broth, and it was much better. I liked the flavor better before I blended it, though. Before it was blended, I could really taste the coconut, but the peas overpowered the coconut once the soup was pureed. Plus, I wasn't crazy about the texture--there were lots of pea husks. Next time, I'll blend the soup before adding the peas. Bonus points for simplicity and ease of preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I too made this from dry beans with my own spices, otherwise I followed the recipe as posted. This soup is fantastic! My favorite soup to date. My hubby who is not a soup person asked for seconds and to take some to work for lunch the next day. This soup is going to be a regular at our table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Even better than expected! Preparing the recipe as written results in a very tasty soup, there is also a lot of room for customization. My husband suggested adding some spiciness to it; I would also like to try adding some more texture after the base is pureed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Freakin' yummy. I cooked my own beans at home and threw in a little chili powder and cumin. I also used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Because I made my own coconut milk, with the coconut, I had plenty of flavor. I cooked the dried black beans and added spices, peas and more water. This is a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This was so tasty, I didn't have frozen peas, but I did have frozen corn so I used that and blended and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States