Tropical Coconut Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Even better than expected! Preparing the recipe as written results in a very tasty soup, there is also a lot of room for customization. My husband suggested adding some spiciness to it; I would also like to try adding some more texture after the base is pureed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
This soup is quite good but I think could be even tastier with additional spices. I started by sauteeing chopped onion and carrot and then proceeded with the rest of the recipe. I think the recipe could use some other spices as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Paoli, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This is an excellent soup! As a base, I'd give it 5 stars. However, stand alone, unless you like the flatter side of foods, small adjustments to this recipe are warrented. In my second batch I used black beans from dry and added 1/4 tsp crushed cumin seed, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, 2 1/2 cloves (1 1/2 tsp) minced garlic, and a 1/4 tsp of cajun seasoning. Redundent? It was WONDERFUL. I'd also strongly recommend using the chicken stock. Finally, I threw 5 sliced medium button mushrooms, an extra (1) cup of black beans (after the blending) and 1/2 cup chopped onions for added body and mouth feel. The recipe as is is very good and it WIDE OPEN for your own added tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vance

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I too made this from dry beans with my own spices, otherwise I followed the recipe as posted. This soup is fantastic! My favorite soup to date. My hubby who is not a soup person asked for seconds and to take some to work for lunch the next day. This soup is going to be a regular at our table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Wow, I must of done something wrong because this turned out terrible. I followed directions to the T. If you don't love split pea soup, don't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I really, really liked the unusual flavor of this soup but hubby wasn't completely won over. I am out of broth so I added a tbp or so of chicken base to 2 cups of warm water. I did take Beaner's suggestion to add cayenne, cumin & mninced garlic & I let this simmer longer than called for, to really fuse the flavors. Wasn't sure whether I should drain my beans so I did just in case. I used my immersion blender to puree. (If you do soups, you gotta get one!) I swirled a bit of cream in the bowls then ran a knife through the cream to add a little interest. My one complaint w/ the soup? It's not a very appetizing color so it's not something I would serve to guests. I served this as a first course to jerk-seasoned pork medallions w/ Spicy Pineapple Sauce (from allrecipes), jasmine rice w/ chopped bell peppers & coconut lime sorbet for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Not a good choice for kids. I included some of the suggestions made by other reviewers (cumin and other spices, whole beans and chopped onion) and the soup was very tasty. But the kids had a field day with the soup's unconventional appearance, making all sorts of remarks not suited to dinner conversation and ruining even MY hardened appetite. Given the right grade-school boy crowd, however, this one could be a big hit: serve Kitty Litter Cake for dessert, and don't forget the white porcelain tureen! Bonus points if you're out of paper napkins and have to make a substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Ugly but delicious! I would give it 5 stars if I were rating it based on the additions of the best-rated reviewer (cumin, cayenne, garlic, cajun seasoning), but I think it still merits 4 as-is, and I hope the rating is good enough to get people to look! Sauteed onions and mushrooms are great, think I'll try adding some celery to make it taste a little lighter. I've made it at least a dozen times, always tweaking the spices, never disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I made this recipe because it happened to contain the ingredients I had on hand, but I definitely approached with a great deal of skepticism. I was pleasantly surprised with the taste, but it does need the extra kick that previous reviewers have suggested (eg: cumin, cayenne pepper, garlic). I tossed in some roughly shredded coconut at the end, but I don't know that I would recommend that to others. As has been previously remarked, the colour of the soup is quite off-putting, but give it a try- I plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I made this recipe once as is (but with plain black beans), and it was fairly bland, so this time I took other reviewers' suggestions and added cumin, cayenne, Cajun seasoning, and garlic, and I used vegetable broth, and it was much better. I liked the flavor better before I blended it, though. Before it was blended, I could really taste the coconut, but the peas overpowered the coconut once the soup was pureed. Plus, I wasn't crazy about the texture--there were lots of pea husks. Next time, I'll blend the soup before adding the peas. Bonus points for simplicity and ease of preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States