Tropical Coconut Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Very good! I think next time I'll use a regular can of coconut milk (not enough of a hint in this one) a little more lime and add some avocado. I followed other's advice and pureed half of the soup then added more black beans, peas and a can of corn. The suggestion about the spices were helpful too as I couldn't find "Mexican-seasoned" beans. This one's going into rotation around here. Very good too with the banana chips on top, makes the whole soup that much better! YUMM! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamidelCaribe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This was pretty bland. It would be fine as the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
DH is raving over this as I write this review. Made it for supper and he is eating it right now. Super simple and had all the ingredients on hand. I had just made some homemade pork stock from ham hocks so used that and added in a few pieces of the ham hocks for texture. Pureed half as suggested. I also only used one cup of the coconut milk. Used 1/2 tsp of each ... cumin, cayenne pepper, cajun seasoning, garlic powder and chili powder. Thanks for sharing an easy, inexpensive, delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This was so tasty, I didn't have frozen peas, but I did have frozen corn so I used that and blended and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I've no clue what Mexican-seasoned black beans are, so I used regular canned black beans, and added some ground cumin, garlic, and a pinch of chipotle powder. Because I like my soups quite chunky, I pureed half of it, then mixed it together again. I admit I was a bit skeptical (coconut milk and peas?!), but it was actually pretty good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This is a delightful soup and very easy to make! I found this recipe while looking for an idea of what to make with some excess black beans (from dry) I had made for some empanadas. I do agree with the other reviews that it is best used as a base. Since this was a last minute addition to my meal and I did not have the peas on hand, I used extra black beans (I think this may have been an aesthetic improvement as I noticed some of the other reviews stated that it had an odd color that I did not notice) and did add some of the leftover sauteed onions I had already made (seasoned with cumin, chili powder and a pinch of cinnamon). I used vegetable broth rather than a chicken stock to make it a vegetarian soup and I threw in a few dashes of corn meal to thicken it up a little. Then, I took the suggestion from previous reviewer and added some sauteed mushrooms along with about a tablespoon of chili powder and some minced garlic to spice it up some. Finally, I topped it with chopped fresh cilantro and squeezed some of the excess lime juice right on top before serving (feta or cotija cheese or even some creme friache would have also been a good garnish for this soup if I'd had some). My family loved it and it went really well with the black bean and cheese empanadas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I made this recipe once as is (but with plain black beans), and it was fairly bland, so this time I took other reviewers' suggestions and added cumin, cayenne, Cajun seasoning, and garlic, and I used vegetable broth, and it was much better. I liked the flavor better before I blended it, though. Before it was blended, I could really taste the coconut, but the peas overpowered the coconut once the soup was pureed. Plus, I wasn't crazy about the texture--there were lots of pea husks. Next time, I'll blend the soup before adding the peas. Bonus points for simplicity and ease of preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I made this recipe because it happened to contain the ingredients I had on hand, but I definitely approached with a great deal of skepticism. I was pleasantly surprised with the taste, but it does need the extra kick that previous reviewers have suggested (eg: cumin, cayenne pepper, garlic). I tossed in some roughly shredded coconut at the end, but I don't know that I would recommend that to others. As has been previously remarked, the colour of the soup is quite off-putting, but give it a try- I plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Ugly but delicious! I would give it 5 stars if I were rating it based on the additions of the best-rated reviewer (cumin, cayenne, garlic, cajun seasoning), but I think it still merits 4 as-is, and I hope the rating is good enough to get people to look! Sauteed onions and mushrooms are great, think I'll try adding some celery to make it taste a little lighter. I've made it at least a dozen times, always tweaking the spices, never disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Not a good choice for kids. I included some of the suggestions made by other reviewers (cumin and other spices, whole beans and chopped onion) and the soup was very tasty. But the kids had a field day with the soup's unconventional appearance, making all sorts of remarks not suited to dinner conversation and ruining even MY hardened appetite. Given the right grade-school boy crowd, however, this one could be a big hit: serve Kitty Litter Cake for dessert, and don't forget the white porcelain tureen! Bonus points if you're out of paper napkins and have to make a substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States