Tropical Coconut Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Freakin' yummy. I cooked my own beans at home and threw in a little chili powder and cumin. I also used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This was so tasty, I didn't have frozen peas, but I did have frozen corn so I used that and blended and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Even better than expected! Preparing the recipe as written results in a very tasty soup, there is also a lot of room for customization. My husband suggested adding some spiciness to it; I would also like to try adding some more texture after the base is pureed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I too made this from dry beans with my own spices, otherwise I followed the recipe as posted. This soup is fantastic! My favorite soup to date. My hubby who is not a soup person asked for seconds and to take some to work for lunch the next day. This soup is going to be a regular at our table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
DH is raving over this as I write this review. Made it for supper and he is eating it right now. Super simple and had all the ingredients on hand. I had just made some homemade pork stock from ham hocks so used that and added in a few pieces of the ham hocks for texture. Pureed half as suggested. I also only used one cup of the coconut milk. Used 1/2 tsp of each ... cumin, cayenne pepper, cajun seasoning, garlic powder and chili powder. Thanks for sharing an easy, inexpensive, delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I didnt have peas (and dont like them) so instead I used about 1/4 c of roasted red peppers (from a jar), which was delicious! The next time I tried it with sauteed onion and red peppers, and that was pretty good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Because I made my own coconut milk, with the coconut, I had plenty of flavor. I cooked the dried black beans and added spices, peas and more water. This is a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
After reading the reviews, I fried up some chopped sweet onion, minced garlic, chopped carrot in coconut oil, added cumin, cajun seasoning, pinch of pepper flakes; instead of water I used the water that the dry beans had been cooked in and added chicken bouillon paste (Better Than Bouillon), added juice of one lime and pureed only 1/2 the batch. Served with sprinkle of dried cilantro leaves but would use fresh if on hand. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I was leery, because I don't usually like coconut based soups. I love coconut in my food in general, just not in soup. I added jerk seasoning, and a few shakes of cumin, and a dash of chili powder. It was bland until I did that. Now it is perfect! I pureed everything with my immersion blender. I wish that I had left more chunks, and saved the peas until after. I would also reccomend a tiny bit less peas. They are a little over powering. Over all this is a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
We have a vegan in the house so we substituted vegetable broth for the chicken. Also substituted corn for the peas (added them at the end so they weren't pureed). We prefer our soup a little thicker so we added two cans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States