Tropical Baked Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
AWESOME!!!!! Made it just as receipe calls. It was quick and easy. We put it on top of ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Mouth-watering! Nice to have such an easy recipe to whip up to satisfy a sweeet tooth. I didn't have brown sugar, so used honey instead, and would highly recommend that. I also added an equal amount of cinnamon to cloves. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made a few changes to the recipe to substitute for my allergies and they worked great. I simply used 1/4 C virgin unrefined coconut oil instead of butter and 1/2 tsp of asorbic acid (Vitamin C powder) dissolved in water (mixed to desired sourness)of which I only added 1 3/4 Tbs substituting for the orange juice. The coconut flavor made this dessert even more tropical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Delicious! Pefect if you have a craving for something sweet, but are short on time! I cut the recipe in half and subbed a little cinnamon and nutmeg for the cloves. I toasted the coconut vs. baking it and spinkled it over top when the bananas were done baking. I served this with vanilla ice cream - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
A very simple recipe with good flavor and was wonderful served over vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Nice impromptu dessert when we found ourselves with a sweet tooth that needed to be quickly satisfied. I don't care for cloves so I omitted them, but added a dribble of vanilla. I left out the coconut as well, simply to suit our tastes. This was a little on the sweet side, so it definitely needs to be offset with some whipped cream or ice cream (and a drizzle of chocolate syrup). Not bad for a spur of the moment dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Okay, I have to admit I made this similar to a "bananas foster." I subtituted the cloves with cinnamon, added a dash of vanilla, and left out the coconut. The sauce part is wonderful over ice cream! Next time I will make in a saute pan, like original recipes for cooked bananas, to speed up the process. But, I enjoyed tonight with my ice cream, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This had a nice flavor and went well with vanilla ice cream. It is very sweet. I expected the coconut to toast somewhat while baking, but that didn't happen. If I make this again I will toast the coconut first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Yum! These are just wonderful! Followed the recipe exactly. I would make them again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I used orange juice concentrate instead and more importantly (and deliciously) after baking, put it under the broiler for a few minutes to toast the coconut and carmelize the brown sugar and orange concentrate. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States