Trishie's Cedar Plank Cod Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Didn't think this recipe had much flavor. Neither of us liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Photo by Thomas Osterkamp
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Best fish I have ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thomas Osterkamp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This was a huge hit at the potluck I bbq'd this at. I used basil and oregano instead of rosemary and parsley, just because that is what I had. I will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Very delicious recipe. My family enjoyed the slight sweetness from the honey , but especially the smokey flavor from the cedar plank. I love grilling fish this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Tried this out last night on some Ling Cod I brought back from Alaska. I liked the hint of sweetness from the honey and rosemary, and added a 1/2 tsp Old Bay to spice it up a bit more. I ground all the seasonings up in a mortar and pestle and then sprinkled them on both sides of the fish steaks. Yum. Cedar planking is the way to grill fish. Good, quick and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Used tilapia and bass instead. Worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I used fresh caught catfish instead of cod (got the okay from the recipe submitter before doing so) and we enjoyed this. We liked the honey butter along with the smokey flavor the cedar gave it. I did add some black pepper and some extra parsley but that is just a personal preference. Thanks Trishie for a great new way to eat our catfish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I was skeptical about the honey but I gave it a shot. I made it for 2 servings as the recipe indicated and I made 6 more servings without it. We did not care for the cod with the honey and nobody finished their portion. The other servings were just OK. Wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was not very good. Something just wasn't right with the honey flavor. Will not try again. Cedar planking is a great way to grill fish but I will try other seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I am sold on using cedar planks to cook fish. I followed the recipe except that I had a nice 1 inch thick steak of fresh caught Alaskan Halibut instead of cod. I also used Fines Herbs and lemon pepper along with seasonings specified in the recipe. The honey butter gave a nice golden finish to the fish. The trick is to soak that cedar plank in water for at LEAST 3 hrs. In my case I soaked it overnight. My meat-grilling husband loved this recipe and told me to make sure and buy more fish. The flavor was superb. Thanks Trishie for sharing this on your blog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Diaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cedar Planked Salmon with Dill

Try this tangy and delicious cedar planked salmon.

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States