Triple Strawberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
I used a white cake mix instead of the strawberry, because I couldnt' find one. :) It was DELICIOUS! I think that the reason some of the reviewers' cakes did not turn out is because of too much water. It says in the recipe to follow the directions on the box, but to use 4 cups of water. The directions on the box says 2 cups. I used 2 cups and it worked perfectly. I highly reccomend this to people who don't like a rich cake. It is light and fluffy, perfect for a summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Everyone loved this cake! I made a few changes just because it was what I had on hand. I used a white cake mix in 2 round cake pans. As soon as the cakes were done, I poked holes in the tops with a fork about 1 inch apart. Then I slowly poured 1 box of strawberry jello (following the directions on the box) over the top of the cakes while both were sill warm. Divide the jello between the cakes. Then topped with cool whip and strawberries and chill for 1 hour. It turned out delicious and pretty. Very easy and inexpensive to make. Thanks for the recipe. I will definatly make this a favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
this was an excellent, light dessert. I made the jello as the package directed (1 cup hot water 1 cup cold water) and did as another review suggested by poking the cake several times with a toothpick as soon as it came out of the oven and then poured the liquid jello over top and then put it in the fridge for 3 hours before puting the whip cream and strawberries on top. A huge hit with everyone in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Perfect light summer cake! Another tip: 4 cups of water is for 6 oz of gelatin. Recipe calls for 3 OZ!! Therefore, you only need 2 cups of water. Definitely will make again... thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I used white cake mix and only two cups of water for the jello. When the cake came out of the oven, I poked holes in it and poured the jello over it. It gave the cake a beautiful pink marble look. Everyone enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I made this cake twice. The first time it came out perfect! The second time, it was too wet. I think I figured it out though, you have to gauge how many holes you poke into the cake. Too many will make the cake too wet and ruin it. Other than that I L-O-V-E this recipe. I also used Raspberry jello... it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
This cake was awesome, but I too used only 2 cups of water in the gelatin as directed on the package. I topped it with cream cheese/whipping cream dressing I adapted from recipes on this site and decorated with fresh strawberries (in sugar). Wow. Several folks told me it was the best cake they think they've ever eaten. And it is very simple to make. I usually always make cakes "from scratch" but I believe I've been won over to using box mixes once in a while. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I used 2 9" round cake pans. I used 2 cups boiling water to gelatin. I added 3/4 of a bar cream cheese. I also used @ 1/3 cup powdered sugar to topping mixture. Family loved it. tks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This was a terrific recipe! It was very fast and easy to make, extremely moist and not overly sweet. It would be a perfect dessert to serve during the summer because it tastes very fresh and cool. I used a fat-free egg substitute and fat-free Cool Whip whipped cream so this dessert was completely fat-free! I will definitely try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Le

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
Too wet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States