Triple Strawberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. Will just put the time in to make a real strawberry cake-shortcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Great Cake, easy to make! I only had an hour to let it sit in the fridge once I poured on the jello- and it still came out great! (The recipe directions confused me when it said 4 cups water for jello b/c the 3oz. jello called for 2 cups- so I followed the box direction).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Incredibly moist is right. How sad that I made this in a rush without reading the reviews! The flavor of my cake was nice, but I could literally hear a "squish" sound when took a bite. It's not inedible, but definitely be sure to use 2 cups of water instead of 4. The whipped topping was great, and strawberry slices made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I agree with the other reviewers - use the amount of water according to the gelatin box. My cake is mushy, but it tastes good! I'm going to serve it anyway because it's more like pudding and the whipped topping and strawberries will make it even more delicious. Next time I'll decrease the water to 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I made this cake twice. The first time it came out perfect! The second time, it was too wet. I think I figured it out though, you have to gauge how many holes you poke into the cake. Too many will make the cake too wet and ruin it. Other than that I L-O-V-E this recipe. I also used Raspberry jello... it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I've been making this for years, from California to New York, and it's a hit every single time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Terrific! I used yellow cake mix because I wanted the "marble" look. It was tasty and gorgeous at the same time. Two things I did differently was to poke holes after the cake was baked with a fork and used only 2 cups of water for the gelatin. I was able to make the recipe healthier by substituting the oil for applesauce, eggs for eggbeaters, sugarfree jello mix and fat free coolwhip. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momotada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
this was a great cake. im not fond of overly sweet thick cakes. i made it for food day at work everybody loved it. i will definately make this again for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULI42298

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Great only used the two cups fo water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This is light and delicious, a perfect summer dessert. As many other people mentioned it works best with only the water directions given on the jello package though. I tried it twice, once with a strawberry flavored cake mix, and once with a white cake mix. I much preferred it with the strawberry cake mix. Although the white cake mix was pretty with the strawberry jello running through it, it was also kind of dull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States