Triple Strawberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Like other reviewers, I reduced the water to 2 cups and it was perfect. My family absolutely raved about this cake! And it was so easy, it will be a family favorite from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This recipe was great. I used the two cups of water as most of the others suggested and it was perfect. Will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Perfect light summer cake! Another tip: 4 cups of water is for 6 oz of gelatin. Recipe calls for 3 OZ!! Therefore, you only need 2 cups of water. Definitely will make again... thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Carota McEwen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
AMAZING CAKE! What a hit. I did like others suggested and only used 2c of water. The cake looked beautiful and tasted light and sweet. I added some coconut flakes to the border of the frosting which was a nice added treat, but didn't overpower because I didn't put it on the whole cake. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ambrosia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilltown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
When I first tried this cake the first time, I was short on time. I spread the whipped topping while the cake was still warm. The topping melted on the cake and it did not look pretty. Nevertheless, it still tasted great. I definately recommend putting the whipped topping after the cake has cooled off. I have since tried it a second time and waited on spreading the frosting and it made a huge difference on appearance. It tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I make this all of the time and it is amazing! food network has the same recipe but you use the 2 c of water for the jello as the box calls for...... just let the jello cool but not set. once cake is cool poke holes in the top of the cake with a straw(all over the cake. pour jello in holes and on top of cake. slice strawberries 2 c and let macerate in fridge with 2 tbs conac and 1/4 c sugar for about 20 min. place strawberiies on top of cake after jello.Then top with homemade whipped cream. 2 c heavy whipping cream. 2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 c powdered sugar. beat till stiff peaks. frost cake with whipped cream and place in fidge for 4 hours. And oh my gosh is it an amazing!! This cake might last 1 day at our house tops! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Wow delicious! It was easy and it tasted healthy, not a heavy dessert. Will definitly make this recipe again, and try it with white cake with a different flavored gelatin. I had yellow cake mix and I bought a 6oz box of strawberry gelatin (counldn't find 3oz at the store). Per other reviews I also used 2 cups of water (1 hot, 1 cold). I put all 6oz on the cake and it still tasted delicious! I also poked holes into my cake before I added the gelatin, and refrigerated it for 3 hours. Thank you the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena-stay at home mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watsonville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I used 2 cups of water not 4. I also mixed some cream cheese with the whipped topping. I cut strawberry's in half and coated with powered sugar - placed in fridge overnight then poured the strawberry juice over cake before covering with whipped topping mixture. It came out very moist and yummy! I also used strawberry cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I make this cake all the time. It's so versatile. I like french vanilla cake with strawberry gelatin the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was a very good cake. I had to use white cake mix but I like the way it looked! Also only used the 2 cups of water. There are so many different ways you could make this cake. Next Time I'm going to do a lemon cake with maybe a lime or orange jello. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States