Triple-Layer Mud Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This is too sweet w/ the melted chocolate. Also, maybe I did not make it correctly, but the melted chocolate ended up hardening so much, the pie was hard to cut. The top layers did not seem to congeal enough & the whole thing ended up very messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
this was perfect! best chocolate fix ever! i melted the baker's chocolate w/ 1/2 c of sweetened condensed milk - seemed to make the fudge layer a lil fudgier. Made the whole thing in less than 20 min with minimal mess. I plan on making it again... & again... & again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
very good :) Also very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjmarcy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Manawa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Delicious! Will make again this year for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I had a heck of a time with this pie -- it's not the pie's fault though. I know I had a whole box of baker's chocolate, but I couldn't find it, so I sent my boyfriend to the store. Then, I realized he had used up all the milk the night before, so back to the store he went! When I mixed the melted chocolate into the condensed milk, it got SUPER thick, and as I spread it into my store-bought cookie pie shell, the whole thing crumbled -- but, I pieced it back together as best I could. My final problem was when I discovered that I had bought cook and serve pudding instead of instant. By, that point, I thought I'd just work with what I had and used the cook pudding. After all that, the pie was great! My boyfriend wouldn't touch it because of the nuts (and the poor guy had to make two trips to the store!), but my friend and I devoured it! Next time, I will make my own crust so it's not so fragile, though. I'd also make my own whipped topping (sorry Cool Whip).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Quick, Easy, Delicious, But too full so I used one 5.9 oz pkg of pudding mix with 1 1/2 cups of milk and eliminated the top cool whip layer. My hubby loves this pie! Update: I used the variation with the unsweetened chocolate and the increased sweetened condensed milk and it made the chocolate fudge layer softer and easier to cut through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
VERY VERY VERY rich and sweet! I LOVE chocolate and sweets, but any more than a tiny slice of this is too much. Shave chocolate over top and chopped up pecans for decoration and to help guests know what's underneath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SGORDON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
i have made this pie a couple of times,using heavy whipping cream instead of the coolwhip. it's almost fool proof and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Castle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry-Apple Pilgrim Pie

This pilgrim pie is delicious and super-easy to make.

Simple Pumpkin Napoleons

See how to make impressive but super-simple pumpkin Napoleons.

Hot Cocoa Pudding Mugs

See how to make adorable, edible chocolate pudding mugs!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States