Triple Chocolate Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
These cookies are delish! They are light, soft and rich. I added instant coffee grounds to the water when I made the cookies to bring out the chocolate flavor. They need to be frozen in order to put the filling on because otherwise they break apart. I haven't made the filling from this recipe yet. I had left over filling from another recipe. I will report back when I make the filling. Very yummy cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These are a simple dessert that can easily pass as a labor of love! If you follow the recipe as is you make far more pies than 10 -I end up with around 40!!!! I suggest chilling them in the refrigerator before serving so everything firms up. Another suggestion, make sure your cream cheese is soft otherwise you end up with a lumpy filling. I usually whip the cream cheese, then add in the marshmallow creme until smooth, then whisk in the Cool Whip. USE CAUTION: Do NOT overwhip the filling otherwise it will be too thin, and more like a sauce. Delicious recipe that receives rave reviews all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These were very delicious and easy to make! As another reviewer mentions, this easily makes 20 whoopie pies. Mine did take longer to bake, more like 15 minutes versus the 10 minutes the recipe specifies. I put the batter in a large gallon ziploc bag and cut the corner to easily pipe out the tablespoon of batter. I also used a piping bag and tip to frost the inside. I think next time I will use another reviewers suggestion of adding instant espresso/coffee powder to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I have mixed feelings about this but i will still give it a 5 because it's the best whoopie pie I've made so far even with minor issues. It  reminds me of my favorite chocolate cake.  The batter was a little runny to start with but of course I wanted to follow the recipe. It was like pouring pancake batter lol.  So, for the next batch, I quick freeze it for 5 minutes to thicken a little. It was better to drop (used a tablespoon size cookie scooper) into the pan. This has the right dark chocolate color and chocolatey taste that Ive been wanting but it came out flat and delicate. Maybe cut down some oil/water perhaps and add baking powder? I don't know what the h3ll I did wrong. Now for the cream filling, it's good if you like those soft whipped frostings. It does go together with these delicate pies. I prefer something thick, sturdy & slighty sweeter for whoopie pies, that's if I can get them to puff up and firm but still moist. I would probably use confectioner sugar instead of cool whip & add more marshmallow fluff or use my personal one. These are very good overall. *** update: refridgerating it came out much firmer the next day but would like it puffed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
OMG! Eating these Whoopie Pies is like being transported back in time to 1960 to your Mommy's kitchen, scraping the bowls clean, helping her put the filling inside the cookies, and getting a bellyache because you ate too many... I made these for a impromptu party, so "whoopie" seemed appropriate. The ingredients are definitely old school - marshmallow cream, Cool Whip, instant pudding and a prepared cake mix. But, it's balanced with Philly and semi-sweet baker's chocolate, or at least that's what I rationalized. Put it all together and you have one rich, filled cookie that will have your guests begging for more. You'll be very popular. Others complained the cream filling tears the cookies when you combine the two. This was not my experience. The cookies were cooled for about ten minutes and the filling - which I kept in the fridge and was careful not to over whip - went on smoothly. The results were perfection. I would highly recommend this treat for your chocolate loving friends, and they're perfect for a party. Refrigerate before serving. You should probably just ignore the fact Cool Whip, marshmallow cream and instant pudding are far from "natural" and fix these for a special occasion. That's what I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Made this a gazillion times already and it's always a hit! Woo Hoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
All I have to say is these are amazingly deliscious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
this was super easy and delicious! I've made them several times and shared with friends...I did use a different recipe for the filling (but that's just my own personal taste), either is just fine...these are also great with peanut butter icing!!!! the cakes come out really moist!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States