Triple Chocolate Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I really liked this recipe as a base - seemed to be a lot of additional steps (I suppose for presentation's sake). Here is what I did: I melted 5 squares of Baker's chocolate (2 dark; 3 semi-sweet) with 2 cups of mini-marshmallows and 1/3 c. of half/half cream in the microwave. I put this in the microwave for one-minute on high. I whisked the mixture until all of the marshmallows were dissolved. I then refrigerated the mix for 30 minutes. Added 2 cups of Cool Whip to the mixture. I also added a little bit of chocolate mousse mix from Dr. Oetker (about 1/3 of a package)to help things stiffen up a bit. Poured into prepared pie crust, topped with remaining Cool Whip. My sister, the choc. pie connaisseur, thought that this had a really dense, chocolate flavour and would have liked a bit lighter or creamier filling. However, I thought the flavours were spot on and the texture of the filling was almost perfect--next time, I'll cut out the Dr. Oetker (or cut it down to 2 tbsp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I just have to say that this pie was amazing! I made it exactly according to recipe, only change I made was also making a layer of white chocolate, using your ingredients and method, and dividing all three (dark, milk, white) mixtures in half to fill two chocolate graham pie crusts instead of one. Absolutely awesome! My husband doesn't care much for chocolate, but he practically ate the whole first pie by himself! I have made twice since first finding this recipe, and it is always awesome! Thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was really rich and tasty. Way too much ingrediant to fit in the pie crust. I must have done something wrong cause mine never solidified enough to layer I had to freeze each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made this for a friend's Thanksgiving gathering. It didn't seem like it ever got very firm, but it was a huge hit with everyone who tried it. I also used the chocolate pudding mixed into my whipped topping. My family likes the dark chocolate layer, so we made a pie with just that layer and it was wonderful. I would definitely recommend you use a deep dish pie crust if you make all three layers! The one layer pie fit perfectly into a regular pie crust. Also, substitute a chocolate cookie crumb crust and it's much better. I used chocolate animal crackers, butter, and sugar for mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roland, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
this pie is outstanding! the first time i made it was for my wife who is a chocoholic. now i am going to make it again for thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I used regular cool whip and mixed in chocolate instant pudding mix. It turned out to be a very nice recipe that I am going to use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angel
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This recipe was quite good -- very rich. However, it seemed like trying to fit a gallon of milk into a shot glass. One pie crust is in no way big enough for all of what is supposed to go into it. I had to omit one tub of whipped cream and still ended up having extra from each chocolate portion (which was fine when poured into dessert glasses and layered!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aqua Eyes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
My husband said he would be excited to have this again. I actually wasn't crazy about it until we froze it...then it was fantastic. For new bakers, a make-shift double boiler is easily concocted by placing a just smaller pot or bowl inside a little larger pot of water. I think an Oreo crust might be even better. Oh, and I just used regular Cool Whip twice instead of chocolate, no problem. Don't be intimidated by all of the ingredients, it's not hard...okay maybe a little time consuming, but worth it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Pretty easy to make--my local grocery store didn't have chocolate whipped topping so I added a little cocoa powder to plain whipped topping instead. My family loved it and I'm sure I'll be making it again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States