Triple Berry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I love to cook but have never really gotten into baking/deserts. I had to make a desert for a pot-luck and decided to give this a whirl (plus all the berries were 1/2 price at the store that week!!) Came out absolutely fantastic (followed recipe to a T except I melted the butter in the microwave first). Whole group ate this up (should have made two in retrospect!). You can't mess this up and it tastes sooooo good! Thanks for making me look like I can bake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORPKID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
It is fantastic. I made a few changes . Instead of white sugar I used brown sugar, wheat flour, 1 cup of melted butter, 2 cups of toasted walnuts. I also added fresh sliced strawberries to 2 cups each of fresh blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries. My husband couldn't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I really love this recipe. I have made it twice and am craving it again. I have used frozen berries. Rinsed and thawed. I usually melt the butter in the pan while it is preheating per others review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I cut back on the sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Awesome. Made it with half-n-half frozen raspberries and blueberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristel

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andee
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I made this exact recipe Valentines Day morning for a present he loved it! I will me making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Easy and very good! I halved the recipe and used an 8x8 pan which I sprayed lightly with cooking spray. I used a frozen berry mix of strawberries, blueberries and blackberries, taking them out of the freezer about 1/2 hour before assembling. I took the advice of others and baked bottom crust first about 5 minutes. The crumb mixture was great, and I plan to try it with other fruit combos, i.e. peaches, apples, etc. The frozen fruit mixture already was sweetened, so I did not add any additional sugar, although it did taste tart to me. I think the scoop of vanilla ice cream took care of that!! Thanks Polly, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Dangerous recipe! It is great if you have a dinner party. Throw it together quick before you serve your food, and put it in the oven while you eat dinner, then its ready! I keep frozen fruit in my freezer so I can make this on the fly. I only use frozen fruit and there is no need to measure fruit. Just fill the bottom of your dish with fruit. I would not recommend melting butter. I tried this twice and it's a horrible mess, plus it doesn't spread evenly. It just gets concentrated in one area. Keep your butter at room temp, or a little cold. Also, 2 cups of white sugar is alot with the fruit (and it's natural sugars). Just sprinkle a little sugar on top of the frozen fruit. Some reviewers mentioned putting the oat mix on the bottom, and then layering the fruit. This doesn't work well because it doesn't crisp, and turns mushy. This is delicious...enjoy! But you have been warned...it's a slippery slope once you start to make it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I made this recipe according to the directions, and it was very, very good. Some things I noted this time around and would change or make sure to do next time: 1) grease the pan and 2) use about 5 cups of THAWED berries, if using frozen. I didn't grease the pan, and the bottom layer was next to impossible to get out of the pan. I used almost a whole bag of frozen triple berry mix from Costco and discovered that 5 cups of frozen berries does not equal 5 cups of thawed berries. I ended up having to thaw more berries. No big deal, but I'm just pointing it out just in case someone else needs that information. Everyone loved this one, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This recipe is a good starting off point. I eliminated the nutmeg because I don't like it. I used 1 1/2 cups of rhubarb compote and 1 1/2 cups of blackberries because that's what I had on hand, so a total of 3 cups of fruit instead of 4 1/2. I reduced the crumb mixture to 2/3 because of the reduced fruit. But even with the reduction there was just way too much crumble. I used what seemed like a reasonable amount, probably about 1/2 an inch of each layer which I guess was a little less than half the original recipe. And it was amazing! I put the left over crumb mixture in the fridge and I will be making personal sized crumbles with the left overs. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Berry Crisp

This crisp features an explosion of summery berry flavors. You'll love it.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States