Triple Berry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
half the crisp or twice the fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina Lam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe and I think it makes a great basis that you can adjust as needed for your own tastes. Some may like it as written (and a little sweeter) or with some minor adjustments to the sweetness. I made it with the same amount of berries listed in the recipe but used a mixture of blueberries and raspberries only. The only other change was to follow the advice of others who used just 1 cup of butter and 1 cup of brown sugar. The sweetness, for me, was just perfect and I could still enjoy the tart taste of the blueberries. I also liked the sandwiching of the berries between the two layers of crisp. Served warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream -- oh yes! Will definitely make this again and experiment with other fruits that are seasonally available!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikingprinsesse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Really good. Next time I would cut back on the sugar. Way too sweet for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Ronda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Great recipe! Easy to make and so tasty! I used local blackberries, raspberries, and blueberries which made it even more tasty. I served it with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Just tasted this and if I have never done anything else right in my life, at least I made this. It was incredibly easy to make and the flavor is incomparable. I did read some user reviews and decided to up the fruit to about 6 cups. I used fresh strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries- about two cups of each and I substituted the plain white sugar for organic pure cane sugar which has a bit of a mapley taste. Also, I left out the nutmeg because apparently I have none, and halved the cinnamon. Final note- despite the butter criticism I decided to go with the full 1.5 cups and it turned out perfectly. I will definitely be using this recipe for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystina Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joyfulellen
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
My alterations: I used gluten-free all-purpose flour and half the cinnamon and nutmeg because I didn't want strong spices in it. I also used maple syrup in the berries instead of white sugar just to have a healthier form of sugar in it. It tasted great! Just a little too sweet for me especially if you eat it with vanilla ice cream. I will probably try only one cup or maybe 3/4 cup of brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I love this, it turned out GREAT!!!!I used all our fresh home grown berries too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Wowowowow! I increased fruit- I'd recommend 6-7 cups. I did 2 cups blackberries, 1.5 raspberries, about 1/2-3/4 cup of a hybrid peach/apricot/plum, and 1 cup chopped fresh cherries, and more fruit wouldn't have been too much. I substituted coconut oil for the butter, and despite thinking 1.5 cups was insane, stuck with the recipe there. Huge success. Will definitely be making again. Next time I may cut back a bit on the fat, and I want to experiment with some gluten-free subs, so my celiac-afflicted sister can try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I just made this today with fresh blackberries, raspberries (red and white), and blueberries from the farmers market. I only used 1 cup of butter thought because 1.5 seemed like so much. It mixes much better if you just dig your hands in to get a good butter to oats/flour consistency. I love the crumble as much as the fruit so for me its a perfect amount. I cooked this in two 8X8 pans. My daughter had two girls over for a play-date and we (including her little sister) just finished off one of the pans by ourselves! We topped it with whipped cream- and one child even tried it with a scoop of marshmallow fluff! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Had some freshly-picked blueberries to use and this recipe was perfect. I did melt the butter, mostly because I really don't like cutting it in. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 859) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Triple Berry Crisp

This crisp features an explosion of summery berry flavors. You'll love it.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States