Trinidad's Ponche-de-Creme (Punch with Cream) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This recipe is "alright", but we, IN TRINIDAD, usually use less condensed milk & 2 cups of rum to every 6 eggs (they chemically cook the eggs to preserve the drink). Also, Ponche de Creme or Ponche Crema doesnt mean "Punch WITH Cream", but "Cream Punch" or literally "Punch of Cream", as some people do call it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tunapuna, Tunapuna-Piarco, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
The recipe is okay, however, my mother (a Trini) uses (3) cans of Evaporated Milk and 1.5 cans of condensed milk. The recipe listed above can be overly sweet with the amount of condensed milk stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
So, first of all, I'm trini and i LOOOVVE ponchecreme. So for the drink it self, 5 stars. This recipe needs some fixing however. I've been away form home, and although i made this with my mom for years at home, I could not remember the recipe. So, I called up Mom who says: use 3 cans of evaporated milk and 1 to 1 1/2 cans condensed milk depending on how sweet u like it. Also, add the rum sparingly depending on your own tastes. Finally, when beating the eggs, add the peel of one lemon (helps to cut the freshness of the raw egg). Serve with lots of ice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by islandmama78
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
i usually buy the store bought kind but, homemade is much better. my husband and i visited trinidad a couple times and had this. it's excellent! thank you so much for posting this recipe. it will taste a little too sweet and thick at first. but after you chill it and add plenty of ice it taste perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
great recipe but needs some adjustment,i love punch de creme coming from Trinidad it's one of the best drinks for Christmas once done right,it should be 3 can evaporated milk,1 1/2 cans condense milk and 1 teaspoon bitters the rest is fine,i use lime peel and start of with using 1/2 cup rum and add more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Great recipe! It was huge hit at a holiday party. One suggestion. I balked at using raw eggs so I put the eggs in a ceramic bowl and placed the bowl in a pot of boiling water. I let them stew for a few minutes. They didn't cook all the way, but enough to pasteurize them for a bit, about 5 minutes. The eggs took on a "custardly" feel and then I used them as the Punch Cream recipe called for. Tasted great and I felt much better sharing it with others knowing the eggs weren't totally raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I absolutely love it! I used water instead of rum and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was fun to try, but definitely not a favorite. I think the aromatic bitters threw it off too much for me, although my guests didn't complain. They just stated they preferred my usual homemade eggnog (Christmas Creamy Eggnog), but were pleased to try this anyway. We'll stick to the traditional eggnog from now, but thanks for offering a taste of Trinidad, anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Caipirinha Cocktail

This sweet-tart, sugarcane rum concoction is the national cocktail of Brazil.

How to Make Blueberry Mojitos

Put a blueberry twist on the minty, classic Cuban cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States