Trinidad Stewed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I served this for visiting Trinis and they loved it (as did I). I used chicken stock - no coconut milk as this is not correct for this recipe (as mentioned by other reviewers). I also used boneless chicken which works nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I added half a bunch of cilantro, half a bunch of green onion, half a medium onion, a little bit of olive oil and put it through my mini cuisinart to make into a paste. Marinated the chicken for about 4 hours (I used skin on whole chicken cut into parts). The first day I made it, it was great; not excellent. Like one other reviewer, I was wary about adding the ketchup. I put aside some sauce in a cup and added a tsp of ketchup, mixed it and tasted it and it was so good. I then proceeded and added ketchup to the whole pot. The next day, I tasted this dish and it was EXCELLENT. Like with all other stews I make, this one tasted soooo much better the next day. All the flavors have lots of time to marry! This is now a dish in my repertoire and a favorite. I'm craving it again already! I'd also like to add that I doubled the sauce recipe but kept the brown sugar down to 3-4 T. Any more and I think it would have been too sweet. I also used a whole can of coconut milk and a whole can of chicken broth, omitting the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Awesome, i had no coconut milk, so i used chicken broth and some corn starch, next time will use more onions, loved it, my boyfriend was licking the plate so that says something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Fantastic. My husband and I both loved it. I made it with about 4x the amount of cilantro, garlic, onion and green onion, and I also added halved bella mushrooms, and served it over japanese (california) rice. It was delish, and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I dont know what this is but it is definitely not trinidadian stewed chicken, stewed chicken does not contain any coconut milk or the butter at the end. please follow myrts78 recommendation for authentic trinidad stewed chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
this made a delicious gravy. i used bone in thighs. the sauce was a little greasy so i might suggest removing the skin. i didnt use the optional coconut milk so i threw in some orange zest to make up for the lack of flavor. the cilantro did not come through for me as much as i expected so i added some freshly chopped as a garnish and i was pleased.the gravy was wonderful over the brazilian white rice from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Absolutely gorgeous! I didnt have cilantro at all so just used dried parsley. The rest of the recipe was followed exactly, my kids licked their bowls!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This recipie is good, but although it has many of the right ingredients, the execution isn't like true Trinidad-style stewed chicken. The marinade is supposed to be blended into a paste or green seasoning made with culantro (not cilantro), green onions, and garlic which makes it more flavorful. It is also traditionally made with only dark meat that is bone in and cut into small pieces. The picture is a mis-representation, so maybe it should be renamed "Caribbean Stewed Chicken"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Keeps with what i know stewed chicken to be but I use molasses to brown the chicken gives it a nice smooth flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dexter
Home Town: Marabella, San Fernando, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Tacarigua, Tunapuna-Piarco, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This chicken was absolutely amazing. I used chicken breasts and 2 tbs brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 81-90 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States