Trinidad Stewed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Sounds very tasty especially with the coconut milk, here in San Diego its a little difficult to get the right ingredients for a good Trini cookup, so we go to any Mexican veggie store and WALLA ..seasoning heaven , shaddon benny and all !!! , When you first put the chicken in the pot it will spring allot of its own water, the key is to allow all of that liquid to burn out until the pot is completly dry Turn and tumble the chicken in the pot almost like you"re frying it then all your coconut milk or water to suit your taste....Just a little food for thought !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BubbleaPot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This recipe was awesome, took me back to T&T!! This will be a regular. I used 4lbs of bone-in thighs, skin removed. I doubled the rub ingredients and finely pureed them as someone mentioned. Marinated overnight as others have suggested. I also doubled the sauce recipe, using broth instead of the water and only half as much and at the end added some cornstarch in water to thicken it. Served over rice. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
It was a little too spicy for the little ones but my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This had a WONDERFUL flavor even though I was very skeptical of the ketchup. My only issue that is I was unable to get a photo of this recipe because although it looked fine after 30 minutes when I took it off the heat, it continued to cook afterwards until it charred into a gross looking black crust. (Which was tasty, actually, we chopped up the crusty black thing and ate it with our rice. But no picture, because it looked pretty vile.) I used the entire 30 minutes at medium heat to get my chicken breasts done -- they were pretty thick. In the future I would definitely use smaller pieces of chicken so I don't have to simmer this sauce so long! And possibly plate it right after it's done cooking so the sauce can't burn. Thanks for the recipe, it was definitely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Excellent recipe! The only thing I did different was marinate the chicken for a couple of hours rather than 30min. Also I used chicken broth instead of water. But otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. Definitely add the coconut milk and red pepper, it makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 99redballoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
i can't vouch if this tastes "authentic" because i don't know what it's supposed to taste like. but it's delicious. none of the flavors are overpowering. they work well together. plus, i am trying to stretch my meals...i didn't have quite enough chicken so when i added the coconut milk, i also threw in a cup of diced potatoes and thankfully it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
LOVED this recipe. Easy to follow steps, but don't skip them as they make the dish. Intesely flavourful dish that satisfies any craving you could have. Sweet, garlicky, savory, coconutty. Mmmmm. I used homemade ham broth in place of water and fresh bird peppers instead of flakes. Scrumdiddlyumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STANIELCAYSARAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was an easy, very flavourful dish that satisfies just about any craving you could have. I LOVED it! I will be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stanielcaysarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I served this for visiting Trinis and they loved it (as did I). I used chicken stock - no coconut milk as this is not correct for this recipe (as mentioned by other reviewers). I also used boneless chicken which works nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I added half a bunch of cilantro, half a bunch of green onion, half a medium onion, a little bit of olive oil and put it through my mini cuisinart to make into a paste. Marinated the chicken for about 4 hours (I used skin on whole chicken cut into parts). The first day I made it, it was great; not excellent. Like one other reviewer, I was wary about adding the ketchup. I put aside some sauce in a cup and added a tsp of ketchup, mixed it and tasted it and it was so good. I then proceeded and added ketchup to the whole pot. The next day, I tasted this dish and it was EXCELLENT. Like with all other stews I make, this one tasted soooo much better the next day. All the flavors have lots of time to marry! This is now a dish in my repertoire and a favorite. I'm craving it again already! I'd also like to add that I doubled the sauce recipe but kept the brown sugar down to 3-4 T. Any more and I think it would have been too sweet. I also used a whole can of coconut milk and a whole can of chicken broth, omitting the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States