Trinidad Stewed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
My husband made this fr dinner. It was delicious. The taste had a tad bit of sweet, but not too much. It reminded me of sweet and sour chicken, but only slightly. It was very good and we'll have it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I did not have green onions, cilantro, minced garlic or coconut milk. I followed everything else, came out great. I never cook, but, thanks to this site, i am starting to learn. Will get the ingredients for next time :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Wow! This was a very delicious dish! I followed the recipe exactly. The caramelizing the brown sugar was tricky for me, but that's because I'm relatively new to cooking. This is really fun to make and I am definitely going to do it again! I can impress my parents with this one when I come home from college. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was fantastic!! Every bit of chicken and the sauce was gobbled up! I did have a bit more chopped onion (like half of a small one) but otherwise had everything the same. One more thing should be added to the instructions though, when the chicken is ready, uncover the pot, put the heat up to high and let the sauce reduce and thicken for a few minutes. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Soooo good! The whole family cleaned their plates and this is a rare happening in our house. I doubled the sauce (spices, chicken broth instead of water, coconut milk, ketchup, garlic, onions) and it came out moist and just delicious. The sauce is great over rice also. Thanks so much. Next time I might add hot sauce because I love spicy but this is a good recipe as is, even without a lot of heat. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
awesome recipe! I used cubed chicken breasts, and I only marinated for the 1/2 hour suggested because I was short on time. I added 3/4 of a can of coconut milk, and some extra cilantro. I didn't have red pepper flakes, so i used some hot sauce to taste. I let it boil longer than the 10 min suggested because it was so watery, and ended up adding a little flour to thicken it. Came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Oh my! This was absolutely delicious. I didn't want to go to the store so I defrosted a bag of wings and three boneless chicken breasts to stew. I changed the marinade only be adding about a half of jalopena pepper, and I made a paste of the ingredients with a bit of olive oil. I browned the chicken in batches in a bit more veg oil and brown sugar. And I cooked it covered for a bit longer than the recipe called for. This recipe reminds me why I love cooking in cooler weather. I will definitely be cooking Trinidad Stewed Chicken again. A great company meal. Kudos to you, MASONBROWNE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Sounds very tasty especially with the coconut milk, here in San Diego its a little difficult to get the right ingredients for a good Trini cookup, so we go to any Mexican veggie store and WALLA ..seasoning heaven , shaddon benny and all !!! , When you first put the chicken in the pot it will spring allot of its own water, the key is to allow all of that liquid to burn out until the pot is completly dry Turn and tumble the chicken in the pot almost like you"re frying it then all your coconut milk or water to suit your taste....Just a little food for thought !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BubbleaPot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This recipe was awesome, took me back to T&T!! This will be a regular. I used 4lbs of bone-in thighs, skin removed. I doubled the rub ingredients and finely pureed them as someone mentioned. Marinated overnight as others have suggested. I also doubled the sauce recipe, using broth instead of the water and only half as much and at the end added some cornstarch in water to thicken it. Served over rice. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States