Trinidad Stewed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Really tasty!! Took a bit longer to cook though. But overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This was delicious!! I left out the coconut milk and added a couple of drops of Gravy Master..served with Rice and beans...scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Mmm! This was good! I slow cooked it for a bit over an hour...excellent! I skipped the coconut milk however and added potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This was very good. My family loved it. I am going to try it a little spicier and in my crock pot. I think that it will make the chicken more tender and let the flavors meld more. There were no leftovers. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This dish is amazing!!! The only thing we did differently is added a little water to the brown sugar and oil in the pot, without it the sugar was not melting. Otherwise, very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I really loved this dish. Just finished making it for dinner. I took the advice of MYRTS78 and put the seasonings in a blender and marinating it overnight. The meat was very tender and had lots of flavor. I wanted it spicier but b/c I had other members eating it that cannot eat too much spicy food, I had to limit the amount of red pepper flakes. I definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This was not a big hit. I gave it 3 stars instead of two b/c I did add more coconut milk than called for, so maybe that was a big part of the problem. It definitely tasted better than it smelled, but it was just ok. Oh, and when I added the chicken to the brown sugar syrup the syrup crystallized instantly. It did liquify once the everything got hot again. This was my first try at Caribbean food and maybe it's not for everyone. So for anyone who has never had this type of food, you should really try a very small batch before you make a whole chicken that may not be to your liking. Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Haven't tried this but a fried of mine called me and said this is the recipe she was using. Being Trinidadian I told her that although she could add the coconut milk it's not a norm. I also told her that when she's browning the sugar she needs to wait for all of the sugar to begin "frothing" in the oil and for it to not get too black. It's a fine line between being horribly sweet or bitterly burnt. Apparently the meal was a hit with her guests but she said that next time she'd add more pepper (told her to try adding half a scotch bonnet to the marinade) and would skip the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This had great flavor but it was overwhelmed by sweetness. The brown sugar and the coconut milk blew out all the other great flavors in the marinade. Next time I'll either cut way down on the sugar or just cut out the coconut milk altogether. Still it was pretty good served over yellow jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This was absolutely delicious. Reminds me of the thai tum yum soup. Will definently be making again. I did use chicken breast and the whole can of coconut milk. Good job
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I live therefore I cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States