Trinidad Stewed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by ypoitras
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Very good and so tasty! I liked a lot, my wife also, and even the kids! Which is more rare! When they know that I try a new recipe, their first minding is to hate that, and see after! But this time, they liked. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ypoitras
Home Town: Trois-Rivieres, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
this was very good! i used two turkey thighs that had to be cooked. as suggested; i cut up a couple of potatoes and onions to cook with the sauce. looking forward to the leftovers! thanks for the post masonbrowne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Enjoyed this very much and it is very yummy indeed! Used bone-in thighs instead and garlic and onion powder instead of fresh and used the coconut milk and red pepper flakes. Skipped the butter, didn't think it needed. Overall a tad too sweet but it's my personal preference. Definitely something I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was really good. I made it the 1st time for a Memorial Day get together. I doubled the recipe and used 2 whole chickens cut into pieces. I added 1 whole can of coconut milk and 1 cup of water. I marinated the chicken pieces over night. I used more brown sugar and browned the pieces longer as recommended in another review, and cooked them longer since I was cooking 2 chickens. The meat was so tender, and was falling off the bone! I will definitely make this again but increase the amount of garlic and red pepper next time. Got great feedback from my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ManisMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Very tasty, rich and nice, but thought it was too sweet. Would cut the brown sugar to half of a quarter cup next time. And, would definitely recommend the chilli flakes; it's listed as optional on the ingredients, but it is really a must because I think the spice would be good to cut the sweetness. I didn't use any coconut milk and used skinless thigh fillets. The chicken turned out very tender. Beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Excellent. I'm from Trinidad and we do it both ways with and without the coconut milk. I personally prefer it with the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This was an amazing dish...served it with basmati rice...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Great recipe! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aaron1979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I thought this was faaaaaaaabulous! I used 2 boneless skinless chicken thighs, cut up into pieces. I did everything according to the directions, except I left out the butter. Unfortunately, hubby didn't like it because he doesn't like sweet food, so not sure how I'll get around to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I have always wanted to try stewed chicken, so I thought I would give this recipe a try. The only change I made was used boneless skinless chicken as that is what I had on hand. We loved it! We served it over jasmine rice like suggested and it was awesome. This dish has such a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickjayne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States