Trinidad Stewed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Very forgiving recipe as I made several mistakes/variations and it still turned out good enough that my kids (12 and 8) asked to have it again. My first mistake was cooking the syrup either too long or having the heat too high, as when I added the chicken, the syrup turned hard. I tried to break it up with a spoon and ended up sprinkling more sugar on the chicken as it browned. Second, I only "browned" it until it was no longer pink and should have browned it longer, I think. Other variations included making a paste with olive oil out of the marinade ingredients and marinating it for several hours, as suggested by other reviewers, and I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into 2-inch chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Made this last night and we loved it! I used thick cut boneless pork chops instead (because that's what I had in my fridge) and I served it over quinoa. I added more garlic and red pepper flakes than the recipe called for - we like it spicy! If you like this recipe then you should try this one also: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/moroccan-chicken-stew/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This recipe is absolutly delish. My fiance whose father is from Trinidad loves this dish. He said "this is better than his parents" I was very nervous making this but it turned out incrediable. I did make one change instead of using water, I used chicken broth. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Tried this today and it was a hit with me and my fam! We're not Trinidadian so it was just "something different" for us. I served it over coconut rice with a side salad. Will make again. It came together easily and didn't take very long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
really tasty and new way to use chicken =) family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This was neither bad or OMG great. Easy to prepare and decent flavor (used the coconut milk) but not sure we are jumping to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
My family and I liked this dish. I'll be making again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Added a fresh jalapeno (no seeds) and some lime juice to the marinade. Marinated 24 hours. Used 2T brown sugar (vs. 1/4 cup). Added 1 cup baby carrots during last 20 minutes. Very delicious and wonderfully tender. Will likely use same cooking technique over and over, using different seasonings. I do wish there was a bit more sauce. Next time will likely add some chx broth and/or coconut milk (will make it light coconut milk, next time!) to stretch it, as well as the jalapeno seeds (we'd like it even spicier!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This was a very good recipe. My boyfriend is from Trinidad and I tried to bring his homeland to my kitchen. He really loved it and so did I!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Renee'

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Was very tasty n quick to prepare. 1 small change i made was to half fry the chicken so its nice n brown if not it looks white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States