Trinidad Stewed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was delicious! It actually reminded me more of an Asian dish than a Trini dish, but I'm not Asian or Trini, so who knows. I used Jasmine Rice with it, used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and did not have time to marinate the chicken, but this was still delicious and will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
great recipe! a couple suggestions: 1) I could not get my brown syrup/oil mixture to turn syrupy, so after a few frustrating tries, i added a bit (about 2 TBS of hot water and it worked beautifully. 2) I added olive oil to the garlic/onion/cilantro marinade so it was a bit wetter when marinating. 3) the coconut milk and red pepper flakes are not optional! they make the dish amazing! 4) serve with rice. It is a wonderful complement to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
My husband made this fr dinner. It was delicious. The taste had a tad bit of sweet, but not too much. It reminded me of sweet and sour chicken, but only slightly. It was very good and we'll have it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I did not have green onions, cilantro, minced garlic or coconut milk. I followed everything else, came out great. I never cook, but, thanks to this site, i am starting to learn. Will get the ingredients for next time :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Wow! This was a very delicious dish! I followed the recipe exactly. The caramelizing the brown sugar was tricky for me, but that's because I'm relatively new to cooking. This is really fun to make and I am definitely going to do it again! I can impress my parents with this one when I come home from college. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was fantastic!! Every bit of chicken and the sauce was gobbled up! I did have a bit more chopped onion (like half of a small one) but otherwise had everything the same. One more thing should be added to the instructions though, when the chicken is ready, uncover the pot, put the heat up to high and let the sauce reduce and thicken for a few minutes. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Soooo good! The whole family cleaned their plates and this is a rare happening in our house. I doubled the sauce (spices, chicken broth instead of water, coconut milk, ketchup, garlic, onions) and it came out moist and just delicious. The sauce is great over rice also. Thanks so much. Next time I might add hot sauce because I love spicy but this is a good recipe as is, even without a lot of heat. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
awesome recipe! I used cubed chicken breasts, and I only marinated for the 1/2 hour suggested because I was short on time. I added 3/4 of a can of coconut milk, and some extra cilantro. I didn't have red pepper flakes, so i used some hot sauce to taste. I let it boil longer than the 10 min suggested because it was so watery, and ended up adding a little flour to thicken it. Came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Oh my! This was absolutely delicious. I didn't want to go to the store so I defrosted a bag of wings and three boneless chicken breasts to stew. I changed the marinade only be adding about a half of jalopena pepper, and I made a paste of the ingredients with a bit of olive oil. I browned the chicken in batches in a bit more veg oil and brown sugar. And I cooked it covered for a bit longer than the recipe called for. This recipe reminds me why I love cooking in cooler weather. I will definitely be cooking Trinidad Stewed Chicken again. A great company meal. Kudos to you, MASONBROWNE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States