Trinidad Stewed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
awesome recipe! I used cubed chicken breasts, and I only marinated for the 1/2 hour suggested because I was short on time. I added 3/4 of a can of coconut milk, and some extra cilantro. I didn't have red pepper flakes, so i used some hot sauce to taste. I let it boil longer than the 10 min suggested because it was so watery, and ended up adding a little flour to thicken it. Came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Oh my! This was absolutely delicious. I didn't want to go to the store so I defrosted a bag of wings and three boneless chicken breasts to stew. I changed the marinade only be adding about a half of jalopena pepper, and I made a paste of the ingredients with a bit of olive oil. I browned the chicken in batches in a bit more veg oil and brown sugar. And I cooked it covered for a bit longer than the recipe called for. This recipe reminds me why I love cooking in cooler weather. I will definitely be cooking Trinidad Stewed Chicken again. A great company meal. Kudos to you, MASONBROWNE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Sounds very tasty especially with the coconut milk, here in San Diego its a little difficult to get the right ingredients for a good Trini cookup, so we go to any Mexican veggie store and WALLA ..seasoning heaven , shaddon benny and all !!! , When you first put the chicken in the pot it will spring allot of its own water, the key is to allow all of that liquid to burn out until the pot is completly dry Turn and tumble the chicken in the pot almost like you"re frying it then all your coconut milk or water to suit your taste....Just a little food for thought !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BubbleaPot
Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This recipe was awesome, took me back to T&T!! This will be a regular. I used 4lbs of bone-in thighs, skin removed. I doubled the rub ingredients and finely pureed them as someone mentioned. Marinated overnight as others have suggested. I also doubled the sauce recipe, using broth instead of the water and only half as much and at the end added some cornstarch in water to thicken it. Served over rice. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
It was a little too spicy for the little ones but my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This had a WONDERFUL flavor even though I was very skeptical of the ketchup. My only issue that is I was unable to get a photo of this recipe because although it looked fine after 30 minutes when I took it off the heat, it continued to cook afterwards until it charred into a gross looking black crust. (Which was tasty, actually, we chopped up the crusty black thing and ate it with our rice. But no picture, because it looked pretty vile.) I used the entire 30 minutes at medium heat to get my chicken breasts done -- they were pretty thick. In the future I would definitely use smaller pieces of chicken so I don't have to simmer this sauce so long! And possibly plate it right after it's done cooking so the sauce can't burn. Thanks for the recipe, it was definitely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Excellent recipe! The only thing I did different was marinate the chicken for a couple of hours rather than 30min. Also I used chicken broth instead of water. But otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. Definitely add the coconut milk and red pepper, it makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 99redballoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
i can't vouch if this tastes "authentic" because i don't know what it's supposed to taste like. but it's delicious. none of the flavors are overpowering. they work well together. plus, i am trying to stretch my meals...i didn't have quite enough chicken so when i added the coconut milk, i also threw in a cup of diced potatoes and thankfully it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
LOVED this recipe. Easy to follow steps, but don't skip them as they make the dish. Intesely flavourful dish that satisfies any craving you could have. Sweet, garlicky, savory, coconutty. Mmmmm. I used homemade ham broth in place of water and fresh bird peppers instead of flakes. Scrumdiddlyumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STANIELCAYSARAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was an easy, very flavourful dish that satisfies just about any craving you could have. I LOVED it! I will be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stanielcaysarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, West Virginia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States