Trini Mango Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Alie
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Excellent recipe, I added chopped macadamian nuts to the cheese mixture before baking & used digestive biscuits instead of graham crackers. We didnt have mango nectar so used canned mangoes for the sauce and fresh mangoes on the top. Dh ate the entire cake in 24 hours. Said he loved it. Taste better than the deli. Thank you Trini !!! Will be making it again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
It was really good..i was careful not overdoing the sweetness of th e mango sauce. I only used abot 1/4 cup of the sugar and mixed in about 1/4 cup of cream. The cream balances the sweetness of themango nectar and sugar. The first time i made this heesecake, i used mango jam because there was no available nectar and mixed it in with the cream to not overdo the sweetness so much. I liked the mixture with additinal cream.Thanks for the great recipe. I made it as a surprise to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
The recipe didn't say in what type of pan to bake this other than suggesting to use a pre-made crust (pie plate)? I used a standard cheesecake springform pan w/removable bottom and cut back on the amount of graham cracker crumbs for the crust to 1 C. as suggested. There was very little filling, maybe 3/4' which looked odd. I liked it and thought the topping was great, but my company didn't finish theirs. Most recipes have sour cream so not sure what went wrong here. If you're going to make it, use a pie plate or use another recipe for the cheesecake with this topping. I won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PlantQueenie
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I made only the Mango Topping with a separate cheesecake recipe. The topping was quite tasty, but a tad on the watery side. If I make this again, I will definitely cut down on the liquid measurement or possibly add more cornstarch to further thicken. It got rave reviews from all the happy tasters though! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Great cheesecake recipe! My only mistake was letting the mango sauce sit for a while until the cheesecake chilled. It got watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was very good. I love mango so I was very happy to find this recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This cheesecake was very creamy, light and delicious. I made the graham cracker crust in a springform pan. A standard crust recipe is too much for this cheesecake, so if you decide to make your own crust, use only about 3/4 of the crumbs and bring them up the pan sides only halfway. For the topping, I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup -and drizzled it on top of each piece before serving. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Tried this recipe to use up the mango nectar languishing for months in the pantry. I'm glad I did as this is heavenly! And quite addictive too, even to non-sweet tooths. I would have taken a photo but mine couldn't hold its shape after cutting it from the pan. Perhaps next time I'd experiment with some gelatine to hold the toppings together. Otherwise, it's awesome. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly (it's so simple it would be hard to alter it) and I will definitely make it again. My only issue is there was too much syrup, so next time before adding the chopped mangoes I'll scoop out about 1/3 cup (easier than recalculating the nectar-sugar-cornstarch ratio). It took about 40 minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Fantastic. I made this for our drama group on Halloween and it was a hugh success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sallyc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States