Tricia's Fantastic Fudge Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
My husband has begged me for four years to make him fudge pie. Something his grandmother used to make, but he was no help in describing and or finding a recipe. I tried this recipe for Valentines day for him as a surprise. He thought he was in heaven. Now I had never seen Fudge Pie before and was really surprised to find out that the center is supposed to be gooey. I baked mine 30 minutes and was starting to panic when it was still so runny, but he assured me this is what it is supposed to look like. I didn't care for it, thinking it tasted a little like an undercooked brownie, but he and my daughter thought it was great. Maybe mine wasn't very good because by the time I got to eat it, my piece was cold. I used the chips and had the whole thing in the oven in just minutes. I will make this again of course because my husband loves it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This pie is super yummy. I agree with the others that you should NOT omit the chocolate chips. The recipe doesn't clarify, but pour the batter into an unbaked pastry shell. You will need a pie guard (or foil) for the last 20 minutes so the crust doesn't get too brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
I thought this was wonderful...especially the next day. It simply melts in your mouth. I substituted the "buttery crunch crust"--found on this website--for a plain pie crust. Don't bake the crust first, though. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was very good! I did think that it screamed out for some salt though....otherwise I found the sweetness to be overwhelming. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Oh wow! This was delicious! I am a chocoholic and this was just perfect...very rich, but that's never bothered me a bit :) My only complaint was that 30 minutes wasn't nearly long enough to cook it. Perhaps my oven's slow. Allow a little extra time to cook unless you want to eat it with a spoon (either way, it's delicious!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer in TN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shelbyville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is amazingly rich, it tastes like a gooey brownie in a pastry. If you're not a fan of chocolate steer clear of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This is absolutely the best fudge pie that I and my family have ever tasted!!! I will use this recipe again and again. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
My chocoholic friends thought they died and went to heaven! I used the chocolate chips and after baking, patted sweetened coconut on the top with a dusting of cocoa. This recipe is particularly good for lactose intolerant people since there is no dairy in the recipe. No one felt left out. The prep time to table is fantastic. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I loved it! Husband said it was 'yucky.' I'm not really a pie fan, he is. It's too rich for him. I should have served it with ice cream. It's like a brownie in a crust, but a gooey, half-baked, delicious brownie. I'll be making this pie for all those non-pie-lovers on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoDoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Really good. I did add a pinch of salt to the flour mix. Definitely use the chocolate chips, I used mini ones. I cut the recipe in half and got 3 4inch tarts out of it. Which was perfect since we were not going to eat a whole pie. Served with vanilla ice cream. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States