Tri-Tip Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
I'm from the Central Coast, near Santa Maria. The original recipe also uses parsley and a little sugar. One thing I do, is if there is alot of fat on one side of the tri tip, I slice it off in 1 piece, then lay it over the top of the meat as you grill it, it gives it alot of flavor, makes it juicy, and protects it from burning too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
If you truly want Santa Maria style bbq. you will need to add dried parsly to your rub. and when cooking you only sear the fat side of the meat.let it burn for 10-12 min. it will be ok because you trim the fat side before serving. also never use a fork to turn your roast, invest in a good pair of tongs. Once you poke the meat you will loose all of the juice and flavor. and by the way I grew up in a lil town called Guadalupe Ca. it is right next to Santa Maria. That is where i learned how to cook Tri Tip. and I have never had a complaint..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2001
Made this for dinner guests last night and got rave reviews. I think the next time I make it I will cut the salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
Excellent rub - I used Kosher salt instead of table salt - and ground all ingredients pestle and mortar style. Then I rubbed the roast and wrapped in foil and put in frige for 6 hours- WOW what flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Loved it - loved it! My husband is the tri-tip expert and he even raved. Added just a tsp. of chili powder. Let the meat "marinate" in the rub in the fridge a couple of hours before we cooked it. Won't do our tri-tip any other way. Thank you Fawn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Great recipe - after reading the other reviews, I halved the salt, pepper and the garlic, then added about 1/2 t. of cumin and 1 t. of chili powder. For the simplicity of this recipe, this is a real winner that we will have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
nice, i added the parsley, my family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmallen6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
I grew up in Santa Maria and this is authentic. We like lots of spice in my house, so I just sprinkle all three liberally. No need for measuring and it is soooo good. Also, remember to get a nice peice of tri-tip. It's not too hard to find bad ones which are stringy and tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
I used 1 TBSP of Salt and added 1 TBSP of Chili Powder. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Greer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly. Delicious. There were no left overs that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States