Tri-Tip Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2001
Made this for dinner guests last night and got rave reviews. I think the next time I make it I will cut the salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
I used 1 TBSP of Salt and added 1 TBSP of Chili Powder. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Greer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly. Delicious. There were no left overs that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
I grew up in Santa Maria and this is authentic. We like lots of spice in my house, so I just sprinkle all three liberally. No need for measuring and it is soooo good. Also, remember to get a nice peice of tri-tip. It's not too hard to find bad ones which are stringy and tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Tastes just like the tri tip I grew up with at barbecues in Santa Barbara. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
Super peppery. I don't remember the tri-tip I've had in Santa Maria being overwhelmed by the pepper. I'll try again halving it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Loved it - loved it! My husband is the tri-tip expert and he even raved. Added just a tsp. of chili powder. Let the meat "marinate" in the rub in the fridge a couple of hours before we cooked it. Won't do our tri-tip any other way. Thank you Fawn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
Excellent rub - I used Kosher salt instead of table salt - and ground all ingredients pestle and mortar style. Then I rubbed the roast and wrapped in foil and put in frige for 6 hours- WOW what flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I made this on Christmas and it was great. We used the left overs for french dip sandwiches. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
Simple and sooooo tasty. However, I also added cumin and chili powder for a deeper, more robust flavor. Will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States