Tri-Tip Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I have served this many times and consistently receive excellent feedback, wanting the recipe. It is very simple to prepare, but produces a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Very simple and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrp1207
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Great rub! Next time I'll only use 1 tbsp for 2 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrp1207

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Half the salt & black pepper-used Kosher salt, added thyme, brown sugar, chili powder, cumin as suggested by other reviewers. Mortar the ingredients - just smashed them all together w/ spoon. Did not have parsley - would have added it if I had some. Baked it @ 425 degrees for 25 mins & grill for 5 mins in the toaster oven. Did not burn or char like I wanted. Tasty - still a bit on the salty side - might still need to cut down on the salt. Also next time reduce to 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I liked the flavor of this recipe - wish I had parsley because I can see how that would add more depth of flavor. I cut the salt in 1/2 but it was still too salty - next time, I will use much less. Overall it was great and family loved it - 3 of us ate almost the entire 2.15lb tri tip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This was so good! I, too, halved the salt and added 1 T chili powder and a little cumin. Surprisingly easy and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I am from Santa Maria, CA and this tri-tip rub was close, but slightly off in taste. For a truly authentic Santa Maria style bbq tri-tip use about 3-5 tablespoons of coarse ground garlic salt w/ parsley (such as Lawry's garlic salt) and about 1/2-1 tablespoon of coarse ground black pepper. standard table salt just doesn't bring out the natural flavor of the tri-tip the way lawry's does!! LISTEN TO KERRYLK'S REVIEW, ITS THE RIGHT WAY TO BBQ TRI-TIP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Added 1 Tbsp dried parsley and 1 Tbsp brown sugar Splenda. Next time would cut salt in half. Turned out great, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Yummy! We added some parsley and rosemary to the recipe. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This makes a super cut of beef even more wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States