Tri-Level Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
These are so rich and yummy. The oatmeal cookie part really evens out the rich chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
There is one thing missing from the icing recipe and that is to add enough hot water (I boil some) to make a spreading consistency. My family love them and I take them everywhere I am asked to bring a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I have made this recipe for Christmas every year since 1972. The secret is to not over-bake the oatmeal crust and to NEVER substitute a brownie mix. The cloying sweetness and chemical taste of brownies from a box will overwhelm the taste of the oatmeal cookie base and the chocolate frosting. For a 9x13" pan, I TRIPLE the recipe for the cookie base and use my own brownie recipe (which contains little flour and remains moist and chewy). I also triple the recipe for the frosting and spread the frosting on while the brownies are still warm from the oven. Last hints: 1) Use Dutch-process cocoa because natural cocoa does not react well to baking powder. 2) Use real butter, no substitutes (except perhaps coconut BUTTER -- not coconut oil), which I plan to try this year). 3) Line the 9x13" pan with heavy-duty aluminum foil, leaving overhang on both long sides. Use cooking spray on the pan and butter on the foil. 4) After frosting, immediately cover the pan with foil and freeze for 3 to 4 hours. 5) Lift brownies from the pan using the foil overhangs. Cut, while slightly frozen, into 1-inch squares. Keep the knife clean to prevent sloppy cuts. Made my way, this is a LEGACY recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
Really good and liked the oatmeal "cookie" bottom. A new twist on the traditional brownie. Perhaps I was doing something wrong with frosting, however. Was not able to "drizzle" it as the recipe suggests. In fact, it was so dry and crumbly I had to add milk, then just spread it on with a spatula. Still quite good and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Great variation on the basic brownie. However I agree with the last reviewer that the glaze is not a true glaze as it's hard and crumbly. I added 1 tablespoon of milk at a time until I got a runnier consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
They were ok. The topping needs work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
These were pretty good. Again, the frosting is not frosting at all, but they are still good without it. I'd add some chocolate chips or something though, I need more in my chocolate fix :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
Okay, I only made the bottom layer and put regular brownie mix on top, but the bottom layer itself was too bland for my taste. The butter flavor overpowered the oatmeal, and it tasted like, well, buttery oatmeal, instead of that nice caramel-y oatmeal cookie flavor I look for. I would add some cinnamon, or carmelize the brown sugar with the butter before mixing with the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
What happened to the icing? It turned out a crumbly mess. I ended up adding more melted butter and part of a hershey's bar to thin it out. Even then, it was more of a chocolate spread. This was ok though, it satisfied my need for chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gradava2007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
It's not a "brownie" at all, but more of a good coffee square. It's a bit hard, dry and lacking in chocolisciousness to be a true brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States