Tres Leches 'Three Milks' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Mariela Does Cakes
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
From the different recipes of Tres Leches cake, this is the best! I followed the tips as to pour the milks when it came out of the oven and it had absorbed all the liquid perfectly! I used a different whipped frosting, but the cake was amazing! This will definitely be my Tres Leches cake recipe from now on! I love it! I also tried it with coconut cream instead of the regular milk called for and it was delicious! I topped it off with stabilized whipped cream, and fruit...hmmm !!! Delicioso! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariela Does Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I made this exactly as is. I didn't mind the grittiness of the whipped whites. After the cake had sat for a day(as it should) before serving it really was not noticable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISHKABIBIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
My daughter made this for a school project. I'd never had it before. For the practice run, we followed the recipe to a T. At first I thought it was kind of weird, but then I became addicted and ate most of the cake myself. The second time around, my daughter used less of the liquid because she thought it was too much. I was really disappointed with the second cake. I loved all the liquid. At the school function, I asked two hispanic girls, who were testing the cake, if they liked it this way or more liquidy. They said it definitely needed more liquid. I agreed! I will definitely make this again for a Mexican themed get-together, but will probably not use the raw-egg topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
actually you should use whipped cream frosting with fresh fruit on top its the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
the cake is the best ever, but the original receip (wich is not mexican but from venezuela) does not have real milk at all. the cup of milk is really 250ml (not sure in ounce how much but normaly is a small tetra brick) of liquid cream. My Boyfriend is crazy about it and makes me do this cake every weekend. It's kind of sweet with all that milky suff so I like to cover it with fresh fruit ahd gelatin (in order to conser the fruit fresh). Amother trick is adding to the syrup 1/2 cup of white rum (or any other alcoholic drik, just for the flavor). Decorate with some cream and Voilá. i'll try to upload a pic. Enjoy this desert because is the best ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ioana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
i did not have beginners luck w/ this recipe. i made 1/2 the amount to "test" the cake & used 1/2 of all of the ingredients and followed the directions closely, but i was not successful. i rated it a 3, because it did not turn out so great, but i refuse to blame my failure on on the recipe, because it may be my fault! after the indicated cook time i removed the cake and the outside edges seemed cooked, but the entire middle was totally liquid. i had to put it in longer & by the time the middle cooked the outer edges kind of burned. any advice from anyone that has had success w/ this cake. what did i do wrong?? please help. i LOVE tres leches and would really like to make it well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
So good. I listened to some of the other reviewers and poured on the milk mix when hot. I also did the simple syrup idea with the meringue. It makes the meringue take longer to form but it worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This cake is something that you must have a taste for. As silly as it sounds, you really REALLY must like the taste of milk. I stupidly used all the milk mix and it was way too soggy and sweet. But it gets less sweet as the days go by. the meringue topping is a must to take away some of the edge. Use fine grain sugar( I used coarse and hence it was gritty). The cake base is a lovely sponge though, light and airy and doesn't shrink or shrivel upon cooling. This is a good cake to experiment with milky flavours(imagine a chocolate milk cake or a strawberry milk one might be nice!). I made it into a rose cake, or a bandung cake, a popular rose flavoured drink made with evaporated milk in South East Asia. I cut the condensed milk in half and made bandung with the evaporated milk. It tastes the best on the third day I must say(if you don't like it too sweet). They were dubbed as sugar bombs by my poker mates but some of my friends LOVED it. Its rich, milky, dense and decadent( you feel sick from the sugar). I suggest using only half of the milk mix. One good way to serve it is to cut them up into tiny little squares and serve them. They look pretty and easier to eat that way. Not something everyone would like( like a good chocolate cake) but interesting none the less. You either love it or hate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENISM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
pretty good, it did taste kinda eggy. i put fruit on top, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurricane, Utah, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
A really good and easy recipe for a beginer like me. My wife doesn't like meringue so I made a buttercream icing instead. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States