Tres Leches Pina Colada Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I was a little apprehensive about trying this cake. I usually don't favor Tres Leches cake, as it is usually to wet for my taste. This recipe sounded promising and I found that it was perfectly moist, with the right amount of sweetness. The flavor of the cake is on the delicate side so if you are looking for an intense pina colada flavor, or something that is very sweet this cake isn't it. Otherwise enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Everyone that tried it, loved it. Next time, we are going to add some rum to it. Loved the whipped topping, made it a lighter-tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Love this cake! I am not a fan of traditional tres leche cake. It is just too wet. This cake is moist and light and delicious! I made it last week for my family. They loved it. I want to make it again but I'm having trouble finding cream of coconut! I wish I remember where I bought it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Ok so I reviewed this a few months ago and I said I added some sweetened condensed milk to sweeten up the milk & coconut cream bcuz the coco cream was not sweet at all. Today I made the cake again and this time decided to use Goya brand coconut cream and it's sweet! So there's sweet coconut cream and unsweetened coconut cream...never knew that until today! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Everyone that tried this cake, LOVED it (even people who claim to NOT like cake)! It is not too sweet and not too wet for my liking...just perfect. But, as other reviewers have done, I also used about 1/4 of a cup of toasted coconut on top. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HappyWife
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
A really moist, light, not over-whelmingly sweet but sweet enough to hit the spot. Really simple to make. Everyone one loved it and had at least two pieces, even people who claimed not to like coconuts could not resist seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
My family loved it. I added coconut to the batter, used apple sauce instead of oil, and cut down the water to 1 cup. Also used light cool whip instead of whipping the cream myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Hi, I am the submitter of this recipe. You do not need to drain the pineapple when you add it to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I can't really give this recipe a true review because I couldn't find coconut cream so I just skipped that step. I did everything else as per recipe with an addition of coconut & 3/4 cup flour (my cake mix was smaller than recommended) to the cake mixture. I made about 2.5 dozen cupcakes & they were sooo yummy. I'm going on a hunt for coconut cream and will revisit this recipe when I find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Cake mixes are not as large now. The one I bought, Duncan Heinz,the only one I could find without pudding, was 16.5 ounces, so we added 1.7 ounces of flour. I was worried about whether or not the pineapple should have been drained or not. I didn't drain it. I used more toasted coconut on top, probably about a cup. We also added a little rum to the whipping cream. The cake was a HUGE hit at the dinner party to which we took it. We'll probably cut down on the milk next time. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States